Bean Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
The flavor of potatoes in Mexican food is actually not as unusual as it sounds. Some traditional Mexican foods have potatoes in the ingredients...just usually not mashed with milk. I recommend microwaving them whole and then cubing them & sauteing with the other ingredients. (skipping the milk of course) This provides a little more texture to the enchiladas. The only other thing I added was a few roasted, chopped green chiles that I had leftover from another recipe. These enchiladas would be great for vegetarians, but my husband (the avid meat eater) liked them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
My family & I enjoyed this recipe but like other reviewers, I tinkered with it to make it more appealing to my family. #1 Please don't mash the potatoes, cubed potatoes make a better consistency. #2 Use the sharpest cheese you can find and #4 Saute onions instead of adding them raw. I think it improves the flavor & you won't have crunchy onions in the mixture. We prefer flour tortillas vs. corn so I changed that as well. This recipe is a solid foundation with room to improvise, there are many things a cook can add to change the character of this recipe to suit their family's tastes. Thank you, LauraKE for sharing and the other folks for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These were really good. I made a few changes to the recipe - I smashed half of the can of pinto beans. I used only grated cheese - a Mexican blend. I did not use taco seasoning because I find it too salty - instead I threw in 2 teaspoons each of cumin and chili powder. I added a clove of garlic - diced. I used green enchilada sauce which was the absolute perfect topping. And I used fresh salsa that I had just made myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This dish is really good. I did not mash the potatoes but used "Simply Potatoes" diced potatoes with onion. You can find them by the eggs in a dark green pack. I followed the cooking directions on the pack but after cooking for the 12 to 15 min. they said to I felt they were still to hard so I then turned them down, added a little water, kept covered and cooked another 10-15 min. Perfect. When they were done I didn't mash them but kind of broke them up a little and kept going. Texture was perfect. Don't know if I would care for the potatoes being "mashed potatoes". I didn't use the salsa and used a 19 oz. can of enchilada sauce. I think it would have been to dry if I had used less. It turned out great and neither me or my husband missed the fact that there was no meat in them and believe me my husband would have let me know if he had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I made these last night and really liked them. I used mashed potatos, mixed in a can of refried beans and a small can of green chilies. Using a spatula I spread the mixture on flour tortillas and then added cheese before rolling up and topping with a 10oz can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I found it's better if you use 2 cans of enchilada sauce. Otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This one was really a winner with myself and my husband. It has a nice presentation. I did not mash the potatos with a mixer. I just mixed in the beans, onions, and mix into the cooked cubed potatos with the olive oil and milk. It turned out really well and made preparation a little easier. I also skipped the salsa. I thought the enchilada sauce was sufficient. We dolloped sour cream on top. Will definitely make this one again. Excellent meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These enchiladas were just good, not terrific. They came out a bit dry. Also, next time I will sautee the onions ahead of time to bring out the flavor more and reduce the crunchiness. This recipe is a wonderful base--I am going to try adding a stronger cheese, adding green chiles or using black beans instead of pintos. Lots of ways to experiment with this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
These are so good! I used black beans since I didn't have pinto but that is the only thing I changed. I also used the 10 minute Enchilada Sauce on this website and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is a good basic recipe that can be adjusted to suite your taste. I will definitly make this again but will be adding some additons for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States