Bean Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
The flavor of potatoes in Mexican food is actually not as unusual as it sounds. Some traditional Mexican foods have potatoes in the ingredients...just usually not mashed with milk. I recommend microwaving them whole and then cubing them & sauteing with the other ingredients. (skipping the milk of course) This provides a little more texture to the enchiladas. The only other thing I added was a few roasted, chopped green chiles that I had leftover from another recipe. These enchiladas would be great for vegetarians, but my husband (the avid meat eater) liked them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These enchiladas were just good, not terrific. They came out a bit dry. Also, next time I will sautee the onions ahead of time to bring out the flavor more and reduce the crunchiness. This recipe is a wonderful base--I am going to try adding a stronger cheese, adding green chiles or using black beans instead of pintos. Lots of ways to experiment with this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This one was really a winner with myself and my husband. It has a nice presentation. I did not mash the potatos with a mixer. I just mixed in the beans, onions, and mix into the cooked cubed potatos with the olive oil and milk. It turned out really well and made preparation a little easier. I also skipped the salsa. I thought the enchilada sauce was sufficient. We dolloped sour cream on top. Will definitely make this one again. Excellent meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Good flavor, interesting mix of spicy and mild. I took another reviewer's suggestion and sauteed the cubes potatoes rather than mashing them. My only complaint was that they came out rather dry this way. Will tinker with the recipe a little more if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
My husband and kids loved it. I ran out of the potato mixture so I will probably use 3 potatoes next time. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
These were great! They have some substance to them even though there isn't any meat in them and really fill you up. I needed to add extra enchilada sauce to make sure that they were covered completely (I was worried they would dry out). Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This was quite tasty, all 3 adults in our family liked it. A good way to use up mashed potatoes too! I didn't have any pinto beans so I substituted a can of refried beans - came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
My family & I enjoyed this recipe but like other reviewers, I tinkered with it to make it more appealing to my family. #1 Please don't mash the potatoes, cubed potatoes make a better consistency. #2 Use the sharpest cheese you can find and #4 Saute onions instead of adding them raw. I think it improves the flavor & you won't have crunchy onions in the mixture. We prefer flour tortillas vs. corn so I changed that as well. This recipe is a solid foundation with room to improvise, there are many things a cook can add to change the character of this recipe to suit their family's tastes. Thank you, LauraKE for sharing and the other folks for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I will add this to my other potato enchilada recipie. I actually cook the potatos, let them cool, then shred them in my cuisinart. You get much better texture than mashed. Would suggest folks do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Looked really great but they were not exceptionally great or a big hit. Made as stated in the recipe and would have probably done better to follow some of the other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States