Bean Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was good, but I followed the suggestions given by other reviewers, so I don't know about the original recipe. I fried my tortillas while my potatoes were boiling, and sauteed the onion in the leftover oil. I added the olive oil and milk to the potatoes and mashed them up a little bit, but left in large potato chunks. I also used chili-and-lime refried beans, and added jalepenos. I used only one can of sauce and had no problem with moisture. I also added much more cheese to the top than the recipe calls for. I thought these were delicious and very filling--I didn't need to serve any side dishes except chips and salsa. I have a TON of leftovers, including a lot of leftover filling that will have to be used for burritos or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vayerly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made this recipe because I had a left over baked potato, so count me in as another reviewer who didn't use mashed potatoes. I sauted half a large onion in canola oil, added the cubed potato, sprinkled with taco seasoning and then added the almost fully drained can of pinto beans. Used an 8oz bag of shredded Mexican cheese and most of a 19oz can of enchilada sauce. This made 15 enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
These were very good, but a little on the dry side. I will most likely try this again and hope I get them a little less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Delicious! All my little ones and husband loved it. Too easy.I used whole wheat tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
A very tasty recipe, though I agree with other reviewers that the recipe as written comes out too dry. Twice as much sauce wouldn't be too much. I used "Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce" from this site. Tasty! Liked this as a hearty main dish without meat. Hard to please my husband with any meatless main dish, but he enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Outstanding -- as a main dish, side dish, leftovers for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I've made this on numerous occasions and my whole family loves it! I've also passed it on to friends who love it too (kids adore it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I found it's better if you use 2 cans of enchilada sauce. Otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This dish is really good. I did not mash the potatoes but used "Simply Potatoes" diced potatoes with onion. You can find them by the eggs in a dark green pack. I followed the cooking directions on the pack but after cooking for the 12 to 15 min. they said to I felt they were still to hard so I then turned them down, added a little water, kept covered and cooked another 10-15 min. Perfect. When they were done I didn't mash them but kind of broke them up a little and kept going. Texture was perfect. Don't know if I would care for the potatoes being "mashed potatoes". I didn't use the salsa and used a 19 oz. can of enchilada sauce. I think it would have been to dry if I had used less. It turned out great and neither me or my husband missed the fact that there was no meat in them and believe me my husband would have let me know if he had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I followed other cook's suggestions and didn't mash the potatoes, used black beans instead of pinto, green chilies instead of the salsa and sauteed the onions. They turned out well and I will make them again. I might add a can of corn next time for color and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States