Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! Instead of bread I topped it with polenta - I just bought the sort of pre-made polenta in a tube, then sliced it and layered it on top of the bean and vegetable mixture. The polenta browned up nicely in the oven, and it was great. My boyfriend is a vegetarian, so I'm always on the lookout for recipes that we'll both enjoy. This one was hearty and savory, and we loved it. I think the spices could also be easily altered to make it a "southwestern" bean casserole - next time I'll try chili powder and cumin and top it with cornbread mix. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
My husband really liked this, and it's easy to make. I used a 7x11 casserole. I have no idea how you can fit 1/2 a pound of bread on the top, though. Next time I will try it with mashed potatoes instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Good recipe for a cold night. I did swap out the french loaf for a whole wheat bread and added some romano with the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This recipe takes a while to put together. I like the fact that it is very healthy. However, we found it very bland and added a shots of HP and barbecue sauce in our bowels. Next time I will add a few table spoons of these sauces to the recipe. It will also add some needed moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I put this together and left it for the kids with baking instructions. There was nothing left when I got home and they all raved about it - they even washed the casserole dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I am surprised how good this is. These are the changes I made and I doubled the recipe. My 1.5 year old loves this: add chicken broth for water, add Italian seasoning for the spices, use can of the tomato paste, use one can Kidney beans and one can black beans, crumble the roll of polenta (no bread) on top and add Parmesan. Very yummy and good for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Very yummy indeed. Thank you. I would even suggest having it as an accompanyment to a braai (guess you can tell I'm from South Africa)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The flavor was quite a surprise. I enjoyed it a lot and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I just made this for the 1st time today. Prep time was longer than 5 minutes, but no big deal. I did try to use mashed potatoes on top instead of the bread, and even tho it tasted great, it looked like a mess. I will make it again, with bread next time. But it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States