Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
First - Dry beans take much longer than 1 1/2 hours to cook. Now - Once you have the beans cooked, the mixing process goes fairly quick. The bean goop could also be used as a dip or sandwich spread. These really tasted like any average bean burger, but were significantly more work. I made this recipe as a fun project, and I enjoyed the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I doubled this recipe because I was feeding 8 people. It was unnecessary. I only used a quarter of the bean mix for one meal. But it did go over very well, even with my pickiest eater. I did have to add more garlic, salt and pepper for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It does take a quite a bit of work so if you're lazy in the kitchen..move on, lol. It does make a lot however so all that work pays off when you easily pull out leftovers from the freezer! I only made a couple changes, I doubled the garlic powder and hot sauce, and instead of corn meal I used bread crumbs I made from some old rye bread, also I fried in peanut oil (vegetable oil is not good for you!) The whole fam really enjoyed these, husband was pleasantly surprised, 10 yr old asked for seconds and 7 yr old was happy that no animals were harmed in the making of these burgers!! I will def make these again and might increase the spices a little more. Thank you Eveningstar24!!! **** Update: Just made these again from the leftovers in the freezer. We put them whole wheat wraps with lettuce, onion, cheese and the authentic thousand island dressing from this site, Best ever! We have dubbed them Big Mac Bean Wraps. Introduced this to some newcomers and it was a huge hit with them as well. Am now making more as my left overs are gone. I'm actually making a double batch because it's so handy in the freezer! I store it in an old sour cream 16oz containers and each one is enough to make burgers for 5. Might try a bbq sauce ensemble next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Inexpensive and relatively easy for how much it makes. The flavor was mild but not plain -- just right with some ketchup and tomatoes on top! I made Belle's Hamburger Buns to go with these, but the burgers are so filling we could have eaten them on their own without the buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I made this, but subbed black beans for northern beans and cumin for liquid smoke. So, the flavor was different, I will speak for the consistency. It was good and both of my picky eaters aged 2 and 4 enjoyed it. If you are concerned about sodium, I would sub your own spices for the seasoned stuffing mix and be sure to rinse the beans before you let them drain to get rid of any extra starch. Your stomach will thank you later. I have seen other recipes where they didn't process or blend the beans, and they just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
hey...lol...you stole my family recipe!! I always have soaked cooked beans on hand. Soak them in slowcooker and then just turn on in am. Everything goes in food processer at night. I don't usually "bread" them with cornmeal though. Just flour or breadcrumbs. Also I spice it myself with ordinary "panko" type bread crumbs. Oh anything handy. lol Panko bread crumbs are just stale white bread grated on box grater large holes. I am a miser and learned that one long ago. Four stars cause of changes. But hey folks it's easier than it looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
They were really tasty. My carnivorous boyfriend declared that this recipe was a keeper. They were time consuming, but as long as you know what you're in for, it's not too bad. The recipe is a bit big and not easily scaled down, but thankfully nothing has to be exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
northern beans long prep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
There were a HUGE hit with my family. Even with my picky 14 year old! They were glad there were extras so they can have them for lunch tomorrow. They did take quite a bit of prep, but all the steps were worth it. (It will probably go faster next time I make them.) I made them exactly as the recipe called for, except that I used cornbread stuffing since that is what I had. This one is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I thought these were awful--and waaaay too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Yummy Lemon Salmon Burgers

See how to make quick-and-easy salmon burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States