Bean, Bacon and Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2000
really great tasting soup. even better the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
delicious! wonderfully easy to make. i cook my bacon in the oven, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
This soup is sweet yet spicy. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I found the celery and onion taste far overpowered the bean flavor (and I used 4 extra ounces of bean). Just not to my liking, and alot of time cutting, chopping, saute and puree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Delicious! I love beans but my boyfriend is not the biggest fan so I added more bacon for a compromise - doubled the amount actually. As I was cooking it I was thinking that there were a lot of vegetables in there, and when I added the beans and saw the ratio I was worried that the veggies would overpower the beans' taste. But it came out wonderful: the tastes blend so well that you actually can't pick out any of their individual flavours. After blending, the soup gets a wonderful babyfood-like quality that makes it so very comforting. When it was over I was wishing I could lick the bowl clean - a 5 star indicator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Loved it. I only used two small onions and I also doubled the bacon. My whole family ate it, which is rare in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I love this soup... This is one of my Favorites;>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is a delicious soup. Changes I made: I added a lot more bacon. This makes a lot of soup, so I used a whole package of bacon. I used less parsley (Italian) than called for, about 1/3 cup. Depending on your taste, you may want to add a bit of salt. The carrots and red bell pepper do add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup is unbelievably good! The whole family, kiddos too, absolutely loved this- that is a rarity in this house! I was short on veggies, only had one onion, and two stalks celery. I doubled the recipe anyways and added an extra can of beans. I mixed three cans of beans; black beans, mixed beans, and cannelini beans. Everything else I did as called for in the recipe and we served it with some crusty bread! Scrumptious! Thanks a ton for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I added more bacon to please my family. Easy and taste great. This is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States