Bean, Bacon and Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup is awesome. Nice and spicy but not too spicy. I didn't blend it at all because we like a chunky soup and I also added some corn. I would certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very Good!! I basically made half of this recipe and now I wish I'd made the whole thing. I pureed half and might only puree about 1/3 next time. This smells wonderful while it's simmering away. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Loved this, tho' I did change it up a bit by using the immersion blender on only about half of this, leaving the rest of all that beautiful color and texture of the vegetables alone. If prepared as written this is a pureed soup that wouldn't have appealed to me nearly as much. It's incredible to me what a robustly flavorful soup can be had so easily, in so short a time and with so few, basic ingredients. The bacon, garlic, red peppers and thyme each have a signicant contribution and all the flavors meld so well, including the odd Worcestershire sauce! I had some chopped rotisserie chicken in the freezer that I tossed in at the end - really delicious (especially if you don't puree the whole potful)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is a great winter soup! The flavors are perfect together. I didn't have cannellini beans so I used canned pinto and it was awesome. We ate the whole pot in one sitting. I also pureed 2/3's of the soup so as to leave some beans whole and to give it more interest. Thanks Deserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I added more bacon to please my family. Easy and taste great. This is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup is unbelievably good! The whole family, kiddos too, absolutely loved this- that is a rarity in this house! I was short on veggies, only had one onion, and two stalks celery. I doubled the recipe anyways and added an extra can of beans. I mixed three cans of beans; black beans, mixed beans, and cannelini beans. Everything else I did as called for in the recipe and we served it with some crusty bread! Scrumptious! Thanks a ton for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is a delicious soup. Changes I made: I added a lot more bacon. This makes a lot of soup, so I used a whole package of bacon. I used less parsley (Italian) than called for, about 1/3 cup. Depending on your taste, you may want to add a bit of salt. The carrots and red bell pepper do add some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I love this soup... This is one of my Favorites;>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Loved it. I only used two small onions and I also doubled the bacon. My whole family ate it, which is rare in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Delicious! I love beans but my boyfriend is not the biggest fan so I added more bacon for a compromise - doubled the amount actually. As I was cooking it I was thinking that there were a lot of vegetables in there, and when I added the beans and saw the ratio I was worried that the veggies would overpower the beans' taste. But it came out wonderful: the tastes blend so well that you actually can't pick out any of their individual flavours. After blending, the soup gets a wonderful babyfood-like quality that makes it so very comforting. When it was over I was wishing I could lick the bowl clean - a 5 star indicator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States