Bean, Bacon and Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This soup is awesome!I like substance so I did not puree, but I did mash with a potato masher. I also added some sweet italian bratwurst. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Didn't like this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great, versatile recipe. My husband loved it, which is a plus since he's generally a picky eater. I made a few changes, simply because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I Substituted the cannellini beans with lentils, and did not include the Worcestershire. It turned out wonderfully anyways, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delicious! I used my immersion blender and only pureed about half the soup. I used yellow bell pepper and realized I didn't have any celery so I left that out. Nice, tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wow! A pretty quick, delicious meal we enjoyed after a busy day of packing... it was easy to throw together with things I had on hand and am trying to use up. I halved the recipe and it made about 3 servings as a main dish (served simply with homemade cornbread muffins). I realize now I forgot the bay leaf and omitted the sugar. I also used white navy beans, as it's what I had in my pantry. I followed the direction of Naples and only pureed about half the mixture, as I prefer to have some of the texture of the beans and veggies. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Under ingredients, I put in bell pepper, bacon and chicken because that's what I needed to use up. This recipe came up and I made it doubling the bacon and adding chicken thighs cut into bite size pieces a yellow and a orange bell pepper. I hate beans and am not too fond of thyme. I left the beans out but the flavor or the thyme and bay leaf were strong so I added a 1/4 cup of white wine and a can of summer crisp corn. I then thickened it with some of the bacon dripping and flour. I know it's a serious departure from the original recipe but it was really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup is awesome. Nice and spicy but not too spicy. I didn't blend it at all because we like a chunky soup and I also added some corn. I would certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very Good!! I basically made half of this recipe and now I wish I'd made the whole thing. I pureed half and might only puree about 1/3 next time. This smells wonderful while it's simmering away. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Loved this, tho' I did change it up a bit by using the immersion blender on only about half of this, leaving the rest of all that beautiful color and texture of the vegetables alone. If prepared as written this is a pureed soup that wouldn't have appealed to me nearly as much. It's incredible to me what a robustly flavorful soup can be had so easily, in so short a time and with so few, basic ingredients. The bacon, garlic, red peppers and thyme each have a signicant contribution and all the flavors meld so well, including the odd Worcestershire sauce! I had some chopped rotisserie chicken in the freezer that I tossed in at the end - really delicious (especially if you don't puree the whole potful)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States