Bean, Bacon and Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was good. I halved the cayenne and it was still pretty spicy. Any more would have been too much for us. We ate with grilled cheese and dipped it in the soup, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
We really loved this recipe. I screwed up at first by dumping everything but the bacon in a pot. I cooked the bacon in the oven. Realized my mistake so I drained the veggies in a strainer and squeezed out as much juice as I could. Then sauted it. Put back in the juice. I had already put a can of beans in the food processor and the other can in the juice. I add one more can of beans and used a pound of bacon. Since I didn't sauté the veggies in the bacon grease I add a tablespoon to the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Yum!! I also blended only half of the soup as I like it chunky. I made this soup plus a white chicken chili for a Fall luncheon I hosted. I served it with some fresh baked rolls and grape pie for dessert. This soup was the most popular of the two. It has several layers of flavor that are distinct from each other but marry so well together. I made it the night before and simply reheated it the next day on the stove. Easy peasy. I could not find cannelloni beans so used Northern beans and it was still fabulous. I also added a little more bacon only because I knew I'd eat it all if I didn't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great! Added chopped ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I made this for my family and they all gobble it up. I did not blend because I like a chunky soup. I also used green peppers instead of red. It changed the color and flavor I'm sure. However it still turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAkers24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I absolutely love this soup. Excellent for dipping your sandwich into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This soup is awesome!I like substance so I did not puree, but I did mash with a potato masher. I also added some sweet italian bratwurst. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Didn't like this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great, versatile recipe. My husband loved it, which is a plus since he's generally a picky eater. I made a few changes, simply because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I Substituted the cannellini beans with lentils, and did not include the Worcestershire. It turned out wonderfully anyways, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States