Bean, Bacon and Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great! Added chopped ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I made this for my family and they all gobble it up. I did not blend because I like a chunky soup. I also used green peppers instead of red. It changed the color and flavor I'm sure. However it still turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAkers24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I absolutely love this soup. Excellent for dipping your sandwich into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This soup is awesome!I like substance so I did not puree, but I did mash with a potato masher. I also added some sweet italian bratwurst. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Didn't like this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great, versatile recipe. My husband loved it, which is a plus since he's generally a picky eater. I made a few changes, simply because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I Substituted the cannellini beans with lentils, and did not include the Worcestershire. It turned out wonderfully anyways, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delicious! I used my immersion blender and only pureed about half the soup. I used yellow bell pepper and realized I didn't have any celery so I left that out. Nice, tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wow! A pretty quick, delicious meal we enjoyed after a busy day of packing... it was easy to throw together with things I had on hand and am trying to use up. I halved the recipe and it made about 3 servings as a main dish (served simply with homemade cornbread muffins). I realize now I forgot the bay leaf and omitted the sugar. I also used white navy beans, as it's what I had in my pantry. I followed the direction of Naples and only pureed about half the mixture, as I prefer to have some of the texture of the beans and veggies. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Under ingredients, I put in bell pepper, bacon and chicken because that's what I needed to use up. This recipe came up and I made it doubling the bacon and adding chicken thighs cut into bite size pieces a yellow and a orange bell pepper. I hate beans and am not too fond of thyme. I left the beans out but the flavor or the thyme and bay leaf were strong so I added a 1/4 cup of white wine and a can of summer crisp corn. I then thickened it with some of the bacon dripping and flour. I know it's a serious departure from the original recipe but it was really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States