Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
What a wonderful, satisfying, hearty, feel good soup! I substituted chicken stock for the vegetable broth and sauted several cloves of chopped garlic with the chopped onion in a little olive oil before proceeding with the recipe and omitted the garlic powder. This is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Excellent ! I thinned this comforting veggie soup some. Organic is definately the way to go.I don't want all kinds of unpronounceable chemicals in my food ! I will make this often, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
All I can say is WOW!!! What a GREAT recipe to make on a cold December day. My son said, "I pay $3 a can at the store for a soup that is not half as good as this." I stuck to the recipe exactly as stated. Try it. You will LOVE it. Guaranteed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Thank you for sharing this wonderful aromatic hearty soup. I had everything on hand except zucchini so I used one green pepper. Also added one cup of V8 juice to thin it out just a little. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This was very good, much better than I thought it would be. I did add more broth and more veggies. I also through in some green beans. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I followed all directions - except for- I had a half bag of stir fry veggies that I added. I am a soup snob, but this was soooo good! I also used one can of beef broth, and a 2/3 quater package of LeGout Au Jus mix. Unbeatable recipe. The curry scared me, but I am sooo happy I included it. Next time I have some Prime Rib leftovers, I will definetely add them. Thank you so much Beaker1. I love great vegetarian soups, and the choice to add meat. Joni K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Broth tasted great. We added red potatoes and a frozen mixed vegetable pack. We omitted the garbanzo beans. We also sauteed garlic and onion instead of the garlic powder. Great for a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Wow, this was a really tasty soup! I was surprised - somehow the combination of a bit of curry powder and paprika gave it such a nice flavor. I do admit that I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, but I bet it would be great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Absolutely excellent soup! I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, only modifying the amount of barley I used (3/4 cup still makes a pretty thick soup). I wouldn't change a thing about it! Organic broth and veggies are definitely the way to go! This is also a great crockpot recipe! I threw everything in and let it cook on high about 4 hours and then reduced the heat to low for serving. Thanks for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This soup is fabulous! I used beef broth instead of vegetable, but kept everything else exactly the same. The soup is VERY thick, just the way I like it. I will be making this soup again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States