Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
WARNING!! THIS IS NOT VEGETARIAN. Unless you use vegetarian worstershire sauce, which we do. This was fantastic. So hearty and so much flavor. I did have to add 4 more cups of broth and it was still stew consistensy. Thank you so much for this recipe. This' a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This soup was great! The only changes I made were to sautee the chopped vege in 1tb of olive oil before adding the stock and spices, add a can of kidney beans, omit the salt and sugar (the vege stock I use has plenty of sodium in it), use a quarter cup of fresh parsley instead of the dried, and replace the Worcestershire sauce with low sodium soy sauce and a bit of apple cider vinegar (to make it vegan). I also put a few drops of chipotle tobasco in my serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soma
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I learned that I don't absolutely love barley, but that is just me, and it was still very, very good. I may substitute the barley for kidney beans next time, however. Very easy, even for this inexperienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is super yummy. I had to use vegetable bouillon, so my came out too salty, but it was still so good. I did not add the chickpeas or the curry because I didn't have them. Mine did get way too thick, kind of like a stew, but it doesn't matter. I will try more broth next time, and of course, regular broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
great soup - one of the few recipes that I don't adjust in any way! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This soup was absolutely fantastic! Added a few more sticks of celery than written but kept it the sane otherwise. Made it in the slow cooker as it's my biggest pot. Stuck everything in and cooked on high for 5 hours. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A unique and delicious tasting soup! I used water and chicken bouillon instead of veg. broth since it is what I generally have on hand. Cut down to 3/4 cup of barley and omitted salt. (Tasted too salty to me - maybe due to the bouillon - and adding water easily fixed this without taking away from the flavors.) Seasonings are excellent and give this soup a serious punch of flavor. Very versitile and forgiving as any vegetable or bean would go nicely here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I'd say this was pretty good. I just made this today but I didn't add the garbanzo beans or the tomatoes and I replaced the onions with shallots. It still came out really well. It's very hardy and I'd recommend this. Personally I believe it needs a little more salt and pepper though-- and I'm generally light on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boxcar Dave
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is one of my favorite soups. I've been making this recipe for several years now and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boxcar Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
My family loved this recipe!! It was by far the most delicious vegetarian soup I have ever made! The only tip I followed from all the reviews I read was to put the zucchini in towards the end of cooking to keep a firm texture. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. We will be using this recipe as a staple in our house from now on! Thanks Beaker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States