Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is a great all-around veggie soup - love the addition of barley, cause a) i like barley and b) it slightly thickens the broth, which I also dig :) This had to be one of the easiest soups I've ever made and it's sooo good. You just dump it all in a pot and cook for 90 minutes! I also omitted the Worcestershire sauce because I'm vegan and didn't have a veg sauce around...also added some shredded cabbage, some smashed up dried mushrooms and lots of crushed garlic. Made a big old pot so I could freeze a bunch and still have lots to eat this week. This is one I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This came out really good. I changed the veggies to what I had on hand and followed the rest of the recipe. I used potatoes, kale and turnip. I used 3/4 cup barley and there was plenty of broth. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkie56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was way better than I thought it would be. I was expecting my kids (ages 4, 6 and 9) to reject it, but 2 out of 3 really loved it. The little one didn't love it, but she ate it. Anyway, I made it exactly as written and give it 4 stars. I think there's way too much salt and I would skip the sugar altogether. I would also add more veggies next time. I might even back off on some of the other spices. I would definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made a few substitutions to use what I had at home. I love and will make it again. It is the kind og recipe that is suitable for subs and is still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Holy cow this might be my new favorite soup!!! I followed the recipe to the letter but I did add about 5 oz. browned ground beef just for some extra texture and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Loved it! Made it exactly as directed and it was perfect! I may substitute the chickpeas (garbanzo beans) for something else next time but that's just personal preference. You can play around with the veggie content on this to suit personal preference but the STOCK is to die for. First time I've ever used curry in my kitchen and I fell in love! I also used pearl barley and had no issue with it being too thick at serving. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I'll be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I am definitely not a soup person. But tonight was damp and cold and I needed to feed three guys in this house. I did a general search using terms "barley" and "soup." This recipe came up first on the list, I read it through, had almost all of the ingredients, and went to it. I followed it exactly except I didn't have celery. As soon as it came to a boil, the house smelled delicious! After an hour and a half, the soup thickened wonderfully and the seasonings and veggies melded well. And guess what--my three guys loved it and so did I! Thank you, Beaker, for the best veggie soup ever! (P.S.--Follow this recipe exactly. It really turns out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Love,love ,love this recipe,its easy,very filling and healthy. The only thing I do not add in is the sugar and worcestershire sauce. It is my go to soup on a cold day especially when I don't have a lot of time to make a big dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I took a fairly loose approach to this recipe, using the vegetables I had on hand. Very good soup. It was thick, but I just added water each time I heated some up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very tasty. I added a bit of cut up yellow squash and zucchini to add a few more veggies. A few minutes before taking it off the stove I also added some swiss chard to add some greens. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States