Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made a few substitutions to use what I had at home. I love and will make it again. It is the kind og recipe that is suitable for subs and is still delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Holy cow this might be my new favorite soup!!! I followed the recipe to the letter but I did add about 5 oz. browned ground beef just for some extra texture and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Loved it! Made it exactly as directed and it was perfect! I may substitute the chickpeas (garbanzo beans) for something else next time but that's just personal preference. You can play around with the veggie content on this to suit personal preference but the STOCK is to die for. First time I've ever used curry in my kitchen and I fell in love! I also used pearl barley and had no issue with it being too thick at serving. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I'll be using it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I am definitely not a soup person. But tonight was damp and cold and I needed to feed three guys in this house. I did a general search using terms "barley" and "soup." This recipe came up first on the list, I read it through, had almost all of the ingredients, and went to it. I followed it exactly except I didn't have celery. As soon as it came to a boil, the house smelled delicious! After an hour and a half, the soup thickened wonderfully and the seasonings and veggies melded well. And guess what--my three guys loved it and so did I! Thank you, Beaker, for the best veggie soup ever! (P.S.--Follow this recipe exactly. It really turns out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Love,love ,love this recipe,its easy,very filling and healthy. The only thing I do not add in is the sugar and worcestershire sauce. It is my go to soup on a cold day especially when I don't have a lot of time to make a big dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I took a fairly loose approach to this recipe, using the vegetables I had on hand. Very good soup. It was thick, but I just added water each time I heated some up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very tasty. I added a bit of cut up yellow squash and zucchini to add a few more veggies. A few minutes before taking it off the stove I also added some swiss chard to add some greens. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This tastes fantastic and is easy to make. The recipe doesn't skimp on the spices so it's very flavorful right off the stove, unlike some soups which require a day or so for the full flavor to permeate the broth. I wouldn't call this a soup, though -- more like a barley stew. You would need to add about three times the liquid to make it a soup proper. If not, it is a good idea to watch it and make sure it doesn't dry out while it is simmering, and add more water or broth if necessary (I used about 1 1/2 times broth than called for; I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable). I added sundried tomatoes and used fresh parsley which worked well. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very hearty. Replaced garbanzos with pinto beans as that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used half a cup of barley and chicken stock, otherwise everything was basically the same...and DELICIOUS. Even my healthy-food-averse husband had to admit the flavor was splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States