Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
In general, I like this recipe - the ingredients, the texture,and the fact that it is healthy. But it needs more flavor - some herbs and spices. I think if I got the right mix of herbs + spices this would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times, always a winner! I like to add the thinly sliced squash after the soup is done cooking. When it's cool enough to put in the fridge, the squash is done to perfection. I hate mushy squash! I like to use zucchini and summer squash for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a fantastic soup that my whole family enjoyed! There are very few recipes that satisfy everyone in this household so the fact that this was enjoyed by all speaks volumes! I didn't need to make any changes. All around great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Awesome homemade tasty soup! This recipe is a keeper in my favs - krazy kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe many times, with a few alternations. Didn't have zucchini, so used string beans. Didn't have garbanzo beans this time, so did without. Always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The very best and you can add additional vegetables as desired
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have never liked vegetable soup but had some barley and nothing for dinner, so I decided to try this. What a pleasant surprise! This is hearty and very delicious. Definitely the best veggie soup I have ever had and love the barley in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wow, this recipe is AMAZING, and I am very picky eater especially when it comes to grains.I did make slight changes, I half the dose for pearl barley, added 4 small potatoes and did not add tomatoes. I cooked it in slow cooker on high for 4 hours, it was YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this earlier in the week during a tummy bug recovery. This stuff is AMAZING! The only changes I made was to use 1/2 veggie broth and 1/2 tomato juice (because of what I had on hand); briefly saute together the onions, carrots, and celery before adding the rest; and I used quick barley and added it about 30 minutes before serving. The curry powder made this. The flavor was out of this world! My husband ate FIVE bowls, FIVE! And he's usually the firs to ask where the meat is. He didn't even miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Too thick, more like sludge. I guess I'm more of a noodle girl than barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States