Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The very best and you can add additional vegetables as desired
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have never liked vegetable soup but had some barley and nothing for dinner, so I decided to try this. What a pleasant surprise! This is hearty and very delicious. Definitely the best veggie soup I have ever had and love the barley in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wow, this recipe is AMAZING, and I am very picky eater especially when it comes to grains.I did make slight changes, I half the dose for pearl barley, added 4 small potatoes and did not add tomatoes. I cooked it in slow cooker on high for 4 hours, it was YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this earlier in the week during a tummy bug recovery. This stuff is AMAZING! The only changes I made was to use 1/2 veggie broth and 1/2 tomato juice (because of what I had on hand); briefly saute together the onions, carrots, and celery before adding the rest; and I used quick barley and added it about 30 minutes before serving. The curry powder made this. The flavor was out of this world! My husband ate FIVE bowls, FIVE! And he's usually the firs to ask where the meat is. He didn't even miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Too thick, more like sludge. I guess I'm more of a noodle girl than barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
1.7.13 - This was a very good and easy soup. I discovered too late that I only had one carrot and no zucchini (which I don't like anyway), so I increased the celery. Per the advice of other reviewers, I added two additional cups of broth. I used the full amount of barley. This is best with additional freshly ground pepper added to each bowl. Due to a slightly off taste, I may replace the garlic powder with fresh garlic next time. UPDATE: This is even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great Recipe!! I used 1 quart chicken broth, 1 quart water with 8 beef bullion cubes for the broth. I added 2 cooked cubed chicken thighs, and a yellow squash and eggplant to the recipe. I think the combination of the curry powder and the worcestershire sauce is what makes it. So interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this hearty and healthy dish. I rinsed the barley a few times before and it did not get overly thick. I also substituted the veggie broth with beef broth and added a teaspoon of cayenne and a tablespoon of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly( except for some mushrooms I had). It is perfect big hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Best vegetable soup I've ever eaten!! Easy to make and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States