Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Really enjoyed it despite having to modify for what's readily available here in China. No W sauce, so I used organic soy sauce, no zucchini - used cucumber, added 2 types of beans (one resembles the navy beans from pork and beans, the other looked like dried peas, but were some sort of green colored beans, rather small-sized), then no paprika -used red pepper and chili sauce, added garlic, ginger and Italian spices (presumably, basil, oregano and garlic) then used 2 fresh tomatoes, no vegetable broth, so I added more celery, carrots and dried chicken stock, fresh cilantro, quadrupled the black pepper and doubled the curry powder. Replaced sugar with organic honey. All of this was just put into the crock pot and cooked on high for 5-6 hours, then I added more seasonings and reduced to low to simmer all night. It was fantastic! Sometimes I get lucky when I have to use makeshift ingredients-this time it was rewarding. (May times it isn't ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
OUTSTANDING! Here is what I did differently: I added 4 quarts veggie broth, chili paste instead of curry, fresh garlic instead of powder, small kidney beans instead of garbanzo, added mushrooms, a can of green beans and 1/3 package frozen chopped spinach. Finally I added fresh chopped Italian parsley instead of dried. Truly one of the best soups I have ever made, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Have been making this for years and love it. I have made a couple of changes. To bring out the taste of the barley, I saute it in a bit of olive oil (3-4min) before adding the liquid. I use 1 qt. water and 1 qt. vegetable broth. I also add a can of black beans as my family likes them. Near the end of the cook time, I saute a package of baby bella mushrooms in butter and add them to the soup with about 10min remaining. This is my favorite winter soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a delicious, hearty & healthy soup that is so easy and makes a huge batch! I made it the first time exactly as is and it came out great. I'm not a vegetarian so the second time I made it I used chicken broth instead and it came out even better. The combination of spices is very yummy, with a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is so good and good for you. I used cannellini beans in place of garbanzo. Omitted the sugar and salt. I also added an additional can of RoTel tomatoes with green chilies. This recipe makes a lot of awesome soup to take in my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used chicken stock and fresh mushrooms. It was very tasty. It must be the spices since I've made barley soup before and it wasn't this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is the best vegetable soup I have ever had. Not a boring soup. The elderly lady next door raved about it too! The curry and paprika add the kick it needs. It won't get too thick if you slowly cook it with the lid securely on the pot, that or add a bit more vegetable broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've made this twice and it's wonderful. I do add more veggies than this calls for. Added green beans and parsnips this time. Very flavorful. Didn't add sugar - not sure why soup needs sugar. Followed recipe otherwise. Very yummy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Good basic recipe that's healthy. My 4 year old and my friend's 2 year old ate it up. Love that it's so easy to make. I soaked the barley for a few hours to speed up the cooking time. Only took 30 mins of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States