Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Good basic recipe that's healthy. My 4 year old and my friend's 2 year old ate it up. Love that it's so easy to make. I soaked the barley for a few hours to speed up the cooking time. Only took 30 mins of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is NOT vegetarian. Worcesterchire sauce contains anchovies, so please do not pass this off as vegetarian or vegan to your friends. Omit the worcestershire and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I don't often give a recipe five stars but the great flavor, simplicty and economy of this recipe deserves it. This is perfect soup for cold weather! I've made this several times and found that using 1/2 veg. broth and 1/2 beef broth gives a better flavor. I also add a few extra cups of broth because we like it more soup-like than stew-like. Also, I use frozen green beans in place of the zucchini because they hold up better. Unless you put the zucchini in about 1/2 hour from serving, it gets mushy. I like to make a double batch and freeze half. It's wonderful to come home to after work and the freezing doesn't really affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
We have enjoyed this soup several times so we obviously like it very much, but it's missing something that I can't quite put my finger on. I'm not very good at experimenting so I keep making it the same way, and we like it every time, but there's just something missing ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
A simple hearty soup! Made it camping...brought veggies and seasonings.... let it simmer... sticks to your ribs.... excellent flavoring. Will use this recipe lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I doubled the diced tomatoes and had to substitute A1 steak sauce for the worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is an excellent, healthy soup that I've made several times as is. Comes out perfect every time, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
OMG!! This was amazing. I didn't have veggie broth or white wine so I used half chicken broth and half beef broth. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was fantastic! I doubled the ingredients, added parsnips, threw in spinach about 15 minutes prior to finish and used about 2/3 veg broth & 1/3 beef broth. I did add 2 lbs of stew beef, as I knew DH & DS would want meat in it! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have been making this soup for a couple of years now. I make it exactly as stated and absolutely love it. I have passed it on to many of my friends who also rave about it. Thank You so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States