Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I've already made it twice and it's my husbands new favorite! The second time I made it I altered the recipe by adding red peppers to the veggies and used fresh sauteed minced garlic instead of powder. I also used 1/2 paprika and 1/2 hungarian (spicy) paprika and left out the sugar to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this soup! It makes my veggie-loving heart happy. And my husband, who refuses veggies most days likes it too. I've added turkey sausage for him before - like the kielbasa kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Very hearty - perfect on a cold winter day! I added some chuck roast for my non-vegetarian family members. I also added more broth, so a touch more of the spices to keep the full flavor. This one will bring the cook compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
yum... didn't change a thing and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This soup is FANTASTIC!!! I made it as directed the first time but made a slight change the second time: I sauteed the vegies in olive oil until the onions were translucent prior to adding the broth and spices (just started adding the veggies to the pot as I chopped them - starting with the onion and ending with the zucchini). Also I used frsh garlic rather than powder, more celery and carrots, 2 zucchini, and used No-Chicken Broth (it's a vegan version of chicken broth) instead of veg broth. This makes a ton but freezes really well and just tastes better the longer it sits. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebeckf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yummy, filling, slightly spicy- perfect for a cold January day! Used 1/2 garbanzos, 1/2 red beans to use what was on hand; added 2 cloves minced garlic towards the end of the cook time and doubled the worcestershire sauce. Left the celery in large pieces so I could fish it out before serving. Cooked in the crockpot for 6 1/2 hours on low. Added a healthy dose of fresh grated parmesan cheese right before eating and found that it really added the perfect final touch. Without it something would have been missing! Will most likely make it again! husband loved it; hearty and healthy for sure! POSTSCRIPT- DAY TWO, and this is a 5 star recipe for sure! left soup in the crock pot in the cold kitchen over night and just had it for lunch. It thickened up, flavor saturated through every spoonful! Definitely top with parm cheese, but wow! definitely worth the wait to day 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I am not a big soup eater, and this didn't really excite me at all by reading it, but it sounded healthy and decently tasty. And I had everything on hand...turns out that it tastes very similar to something I used to eat when I was little :) What a wonderful taste. I wasn't too fond of the stewed tomatoes - taste was good, but the chunks were quite large. I will also admit that I didn't have 2 vegetable broths, so I used one beef and one veggie, but it was still really great. Thanks so much!! Will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
followed recipes exactly so good on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this recipe! What a hearty, filling soup. I altered the recipe a tad for my liking, adding two diced potatoes and subbing out the Worcestershire for balsamic vinegar so the recipe would stay vegan. I also added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes to add spice. And instead of using two carrots or celery sticks, I used four large carrots, sliced, and an entire stalk of celery. I also sauteed the celery and onion in the bottom of the pot before adding the rest of the ingredients. Like a lot of the other reviews, I also found the soup extremely thick, so if you're looking for something more broth-y, either add an extra half quart of broth (or water) or sub out some of the barley. Also, this makes way more than 8 servings - I'm going to be eating it all week. Five star recipe! I can't wait to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States