Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I skipped the pepper and reduced the amount of barley from 1 C to 1/2 C. I used 4 diced tomatoes rather than canned. I cooked this soup in a crock pot set on high and it was completely done in about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Thought this was great! After reading all the variations, I made it w 4 cups veg broth, 2 cups water and added 28 oz can diced tomatoes. I used 1/3 C. Barley (the long cooking kind) used cannelli beans instead of garbanzo. I eliminated zucchini and added 1 - 1 1/2 c. fresh chopped green beans after 1 hr of simmering. The added apprx 6 oz chopped mushrooms for the last 20 mins and a bunch of fresh baby spinach for the last 10 (5 would have been better). Spice wise, I eliminated sugar and added a teaspoon of dried basil and dried oragano and a lg pinch of cayenne pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I was thinking of looking for a good barley soup recipe when this one popped up in my email. I just finished making it and it is SO GOOD! The few things I did differently: 1/2 cup of barley - makes the soup a perfect consistency; I used a combo of vegetable, low-salt beef and low-salt chicken broths just 'cause I like all three. I hate that it cooked down as much as it did, but that's ok... I'll just have to make it again. It's one of the best soups I've ever made - BRAVO, Beaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made it today and it is totally awesome! The only changes I made was to use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and I cut the amount of barley down to 3/4 cup and I used 1/2 cup frozen mixed veggies for the zucchini. Thank you for posting this delicious and healthy soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Love this! Not soupy, but thick like stew which I prefer. I sauteed the onion, celery & carrots with some diced red & green bell peppers. Then added 3 cloves of chopped garlic instead of powder and let it cook a minute while I opened all the cans. I omitted the curry (hate it) & didn't have any parsley or zucchini. Subbed pinto beans for garbanzos which I dislike, and added some chopped broccoli, & cauliflower. Delicious! Healthy, low-cal, low-fat, and vegan for those who care. What more can you ask for? Will definitely make again and again. Thanks for a great way to eat more whole grains as barley is one of the very few I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Really enjoyed it despite having to modify for what's readily available here in China. No W sauce, so I used organic soy sauce, no zucchini - used cucumber, added 2 types of beans (one resembles the navy beans from pork and beans, the other looked like dried peas, but were some sort of green colored beans, rather small-sized), then no paprika -used red pepper and chili sauce, added garlic, ginger and Italian spices (presumably, basil, oregano and garlic) then used 2 fresh tomatoes, no vegetable broth, so I added more celery, carrots and dried chicken stock, fresh cilantro, quadrupled the black pepper and doubled the curry powder. Replaced sugar with organic honey. All of this was just put into the crock pot and cooked on high for 5-6 hours, then I added more seasonings and reduced to low to simmer all night. It was fantastic! Sometimes I get lucky when I have to use makeshift ingredients-this time it was rewarding. (May times it isn't ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
OUTSTANDING! Here is what I did differently: I added 4 quarts veggie broth, chili paste instead of curry, fresh garlic instead of powder, small kidney beans instead of garbanzo, added mushrooms, a can of green beans and 1/3 package frozen chopped spinach. Finally I added fresh chopped Italian parsley instead of dried. Truly one of the best soups I have ever made, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Have been making this for years and love it. I have made a couple of changes. To bring out the taste of the barley, I saute it in a bit of olive oil (3-4min) before adding the liquid. I use 1 qt. water and 1 qt. vegetable broth. I also add a can of black beans as my family likes them. Near the end of the cook time, I saute a package of baby bella mushrooms in butter and add them to the soup with about 10min remaining. This is my favorite winter soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a delicious, hearty & healthy soup that is so easy and makes a huge batch! I made it the first time exactly as is and it came out great. I'm not a vegetarian so the second time I made it I used chicken broth instead and it came out even better. The combination of spices is very yummy, with a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Good soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States