Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This soup was absolutely fantastic! Added a few more sticks of celery than written but kept it the sane otherwise. Made it in the slow cooker as it's my biggest pot. Stuck everything in and cooked on high for 5 hours. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A unique and delicious tasting soup! I used water and chicken bouillon instead of veg. broth since it is what I generally have on hand. Cut down to 3/4 cup of barley and omitted salt. (Tasted too salty to me - maybe due to the bouillon - and adding water easily fixed this without taking away from the flavors.) Seasonings are excellent and give this soup a serious punch of flavor. Very versitile and forgiving as any vegetable or bean would go nicely here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I'd say this was pretty good. I just made this today but I didn't add the garbanzo beans or the tomatoes and I replaced the onions with shallots. It still came out really well. It's very hardy and I'd recommend this. Personally I believe it needs a little more salt and pepper though-- and I'm generally light on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boxcar Dave
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is one of my favorite soups. I've been making this recipe for several years now and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boxcar Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
My family loved this recipe!! It was by far the most delicious vegetarian soup I have ever made! The only tip I followed from all the reviews I read was to put the zucchini in towards the end of cooking to keep a firm texture. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. We will be using this recipe as a staple in our house from now on! Thanks Beaker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I do love this recipe, but I've noticed a couple of reviewers mentioned serving it to vegetarian friends. Most worcestershire sauce is made from fermented anchovies, including Lea and Perrins, which is not vegetarian friendly! Just a word of caution, though, and it's easy enough to leave out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
The recipe came out as it should have, I'm just not a fan of the taste. I'm sure it's just me though, based on the other reviews. I think this would be much better as a chicken broth-based soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Omit the Worcestershire Sauce and it will become vegetarian. Worcestershire Sauce is made with anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Super yummy. I added fresh garlic (4 cloves) & some cayenne for heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britta Gerwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Delicious and hearty soup. With Triscuits or garlic bread it is a full meal. I left out the bay leaves as I didn't have any, and replaced the Worcestershire sauce with soy sauce. I used a whole bunch of chopped fresh parsley. I did not have canned garbanzo beans so I added a can of black eyed peas with japapenos and bacon, which added to the rich flavor and spice. I used tomato paste instead of the diced tomatoes. The barley ratio needs to be reduced a little, unless you want a very thick soup. Will make it again, next time with garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States