Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very tasty. I added a bit of cut up yellow squash and zucchini to add a few more veggies. A few minutes before taking it off the stove I also added some swiss chard to add some greens. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This tastes fantastic and is easy to make. The recipe doesn't skimp on the spices so it's very flavorful right off the stove, unlike some soups which require a day or so for the full flavor to permeate the broth. I wouldn't call this a soup, though -- more like a barley stew. You would need to add about three times the liquid to make it a soup proper. If not, it is a good idea to watch it and make sure it doesn't dry out while it is simmering, and add more water or broth if necessary (I used about 1 1/2 times broth than called for; I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable). I added sundried tomatoes and used fresh parsley which worked well. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very hearty. Replaced garbanzos with pinto beans as that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used half a cup of barley and chicken stock, otherwise everything was basically the same...and DELICIOUS. Even my healthy-food-averse husband had to admit the flavor was splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
WARNING!! THIS IS NOT VEGETARIAN. Unless you use vegetarian worstershire sauce, which we do. This was fantastic. So hearty and so much flavor. I did have to add 4 more cups of broth and it was still stew consistensy. Thank you so much for this recipe. This' a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This soup was great! The only changes I made were to sautee the chopped vege in 1tb of olive oil before adding the stock and spices, add a can of kidney beans, omit the salt and sugar (the vege stock I use has plenty of sodium in it), use a quarter cup of fresh parsley instead of the dried, and replace the Worcestershire sauce with low sodium soy sauce and a bit of apple cider vinegar (to make it vegan). I also put a few drops of chipotle tobasco in my serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soma
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I learned that I don't absolutely love barley, but that is just me, and it was still very, very good. I may substitute the barley for kidney beans next time, however. Very easy, even for this inexperienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is super yummy. I had to use vegetable bouillon, so my came out too salty, but it was still so good. I did not add the chickpeas or the curry because I didn't have them. Mine did get way too thick, kind of like a stew, but it doesn't matter. I will try more broth next time, and of course, regular broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
great soup - one of the few recipes that I don't adjust in any way! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States