Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Yummy! I add meat, but still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This has been a staple of ours for several years now. Making it exactly as the recipe states, it's delicious! However, it's also very forgiving if I use the veggies that I have on hand or fresh from the garden. Our young kids love this, too, so added bonus that it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty good for a vegetable and barley soup. It was nice and hearty. It does have an ever so slight heat kick to it and the undertone of the curry can be tasted. I would not make if curry is not spice that is liked. I loved how thick it was and it used what I had in the house, for the most part. I didn't have celery, so I had to leave that out. When I went to add the diced tomatoes, I realized that I only had canned stewed. It had celery in it, so it ended up working perfect. I added the stewed tomatoes and half of a large fresh tomato to the blender to puree it for a few seconds on low. It cut through some of the green pepper taste and lack of tomatoes in the can. I had cooked some dried chickpeas, the day before, in some onion and carrots and just used those. For the broth I used 2 cups of organic store bought low-sodium vegetable broth and then for the rest of the 6 cups of water I added 3 no-sodium vegetable bouillion cubes. Using a low or no-sodium broth alternative probably cut back on the 39% sodium. I did not find the soup too salty at all. My barley was also the quick type, and it did not seem to be a problem. Adding everything to a pot, at once, I found very handy. I cooked it 1 hour and 20 minutes, stirring 2-3 times. I removed the lid the last ten minutes and turned off the heat. I garnished with a little parmesan cheese. Edit note: After it was just made, I have a ton, and the leftovers are not getting eaten. I am highly dependent on the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is an excellent vegetarian soup! I just recently started trying to cut out meat from my diet, but love soup. This is thick, hearty, and excellent - not even missing the meat. I'm on a low sodium diet, so I used 2 q unsalted chicken broth, low sodium garbonzo beans and rinsed them thouroghly, no salt added diced tomato, no salt peas instead of the zuchini, 3/4 cup quick cook barley, and everything else as directed. Super yummy! Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This soup is so easy to make and delicious! Great recipe. I'm making this for the second time today, and the only mod is adding a shake of crushed red pepper for some zing! This will definitely become one of my standard vegetarian soups, along with Ina Garten's Split Pea Soup (made veg style) and Inn at Little Washington's red pepper soup (made veg style)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
In general, I like this recipe - the ingredients, the texture,and the fact that it is healthy. But it needs more flavor - some herbs and spices. I think if I got the right mix of herbs + spices this would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times, always a winner! I like to add the thinly sliced squash after the soup is done cooking. When it's cool enough to put in the fridge, the squash is done to perfection. I hate mushy squash! I like to use zucchini and summer squash for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a fantastic soup that my whole family enjoyed! There are very few recipes that satisfy everyone in this household so the fact that this was enjoyed by all speaks volumes! I didn't need to make any changes. All around great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Awesome homemade tasty soup! This recipe is a keeper in my favs - krazy kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe many times, with a few alternations. Didn't have zucchini, so used string beans. Didn't have garbanzo beans this time, so did without. Always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States