Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Original recipe is 5 star and perfect for my vegetarian friends. Personally, I am a carnorvoire and have tried variations of this soup and all have been wonderful including the original posting. Try the following suggestions if you'd like to change it up: 1.) 1/2 vegetable and 1/2 beef broth to replace all vegetable broth. 2.) Add diced red meat - if using a tougher cut, let it simmer in the broth until tender making sure your liquid doesn't reduce down much before adding the carrots and celery. The beef imparts a much richer flavor. 3.) 1/2 cup cooked barley is sufficient for this recipe, otherwise the barley soaks up the liquid. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
i should have warned about the pepper! you should only use the very fine black pepper that most stores sell... if you use fresh coarse black pepper it will ruin the recipe! if you're not sure, omit the pepper and season to taste later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Great soup! Very easy to make and quite tasty. I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic and didn't have any parsley to add, but I don't even notice it. I also used low-fat, low-sodium chicken broth. For those whose soup came out very thick, try using non-instant barley...it takes more time but is well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This is a great hearty soup with lots of flavor! Perfect for a cold day. I omitted the Worchestershire sauce since my household is vegetarian and I couldn't find the veg variety. Since I didn't want to leave out that tanginess, I added a splash of red wine vinegar instead. It came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Wow! This was delicious, I added tomato paste instead of the diced tomatoes, more broth and less barley, and prepared it in a crockpot for 10 hours on low while I was at work. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Wonderful hearty & healthy soup! I feared it would be too thick, so I cooked the barley separately. I also added red pepper & parsnips. It seems any veggie would be great in this, as would any bean type--though I would add softer beans late in the cooking so they don't disintegrate. The barley & spices are what sets it apart from other veggie soups. Will make again & again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
What a wonderful, satisfying, hearty, feel good soup! I substituted chicken stock for the vegetable broth and sauted several cloves of chopped garlic with the chopped onion in a little olive oil before proceeding with the recipe and omitted the garlic powder. This is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
A very tastey, hearty soup. Very filling. I did make some changes - I used a clove of minced garlic instead of garlic powder and 1/4 t crushed red pepper and 1/4 t chili powder instead of curry plus added some spices like basil and oregano. I will certainly make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This recipe has the best of many worlds - it's healthy, easy to make, inexpensive and the end result is a huge pot of yummy soup. I added a large container of fresh mushrooms and a 6 oz. package of spinach - this increased the moisture levels, so it wasn't as thick as others posted. I also used fresh garlic and threw in a teaspoon of savory by accident - it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This soup was so flavourful and hearty. I too cut back on th barley to 3/4 cup and the leftovers continued to thicken as the barley absorbed more of the broth. Loved the seasonings and textures. This is going into our favourites and will be a regular feature through the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States