Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
omit the garbanzo beans and add spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mina t

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
We are trying to eat healthy at my house, and this certainly fits the bill. My husband thinks a meal MUST include meat, but this soup has so much flavor, he didn't miss the meat. We both loved it! I left out the sugar and added the zucchini the last 10 minutes so it would retain a little crunch. I made no other changes. Will definitely keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is simple, filling and healthy! I was out of a lot so.... substituted a can of white beans for the chick peas, beef broth instead of veggie, frozen Italian green beans in place of the zucchini. It is the kind of recipe that can be made with substitutions that you have in the pantry or fridge and it still tastes great! I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a little bite. I used no sugar at all!!! Great veggie meal!!! Also, might add that I read and followed the advice about the pepper and extra garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is quite good. I followed the recipe except I added some turnips that I needed to use up. I noticed a few reviewers commenting that this is a vegetarian recipe. It is not. Worcestershire sauce is not vegetarian unless you specifically seek out a vegetarian version at a specialty/health food store. Please do not make this with Lou & Perrins (or chicken/beef broth) and serve to your vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Just made this. It's beyond great. It's also so healthy. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I would put less barley or add more stock so it's thinner but it's an easy recipe to make. Just put everything in and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy to make and very yummy! I make it with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We liked this for a think soup. I cut the recipe in half, except for the tomatoes, and I used chicken broth and threw in the shredded breast meat of some left over chicken. It was a simple "meal-in-a-pot" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is a great all-around veggie soup - love the addition of barley, cause a) i like barley and b) it slightly thickens the broth, which I also dig :) This had to be one of the easiest soups I've ever made and it's sooo good. You just dump it all in a pot and cook for 90 minutes! I also omitted the Worcestershire sauce because I'm vegan and didn't have a veg sauce around...also added some shredded cabbage, some smashed up dried mushrooms and lots of crushed garlic. Made a big old pot so I could freeze a bunch and still have lots to eat this week. This is one I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This came out really good. I changed the veggies to what I had on hand and followed the rest of the recipe. I used potatoes, kale and turnip. I used 3/4 cup barley and there was plenty of broth. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkie56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was way better than I thought it would be. I was expecting my kids (ages 4, 6 and 9) to reject it, but 2 out of 3 really loved it. The little one didn't love it, but she ate it. Anyway, I made it exactly as written and give it 4 stars. I think there's way too much salt and I would skip the sugar altogether. I would also add more veggies next time. I might even back off on some of the other spices. I would definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States