Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious. Very easy to make and easy to add other vegetables you may like. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This soup was great. I love barley and the combination of barley and chick peas is excellent. The recipe looks great as written, but I made a couple changes, since I am not vegetarian. 1) Used beef broth - Swansons 2) Used fresh garlic and lots of fresh parsley 3) added one pound of browned, thinly sliced sweet Italian sausage. Also, I had no regular paprika on hand, and used smoked paprika, which went well with all the other flavors. Note: with the addition of sausage, there is no need to add extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great hearty soup. Even for those who aren't into veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have shared this recipe dozens of times. When someone eats this, the first thing they say is "Can I have the recipe?" I highly recommend it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim McIntyre
Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This soup was perfect! I recommended it to a couple friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Really good! I was surprised at how much flavor this soup had. I added some chicken for protein and a little extra garlic and used pinto beans instead of garbanzo beans since that was all I had. It was thick and filling. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this with beefstock & added celery & baby bella mushrooms. Made it in the crockpot & cooked on 8 hour setting. About hour 6 it got nice & thick. I thought it needed a little something, so I added a glug of dry sherry...mmm just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The best barley soup ever! Loved the little bit of curry flavor, all the healthy vitamins and minerals from the variety of vegetables and the great texture of the garbanzo beans and the barley. A keeper of a recipe! Jackie P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
super easy and super tasty. I didn't make any modifications. I sprinkled some freshly grated parmesean on top...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent, easy and healthy. Did not use Worcestershire sauce as I don't like the taste, added extra curry instead for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frostedsugar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States