Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very tasty. I added a bit of cut up yellow squash and zucchini to add a few more veggies. A few minutes before taking it off the stove I also added some swiss chard to add some greens. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This tastes fantastic and is easy to make. The recipe doesn't skimp on the spices so it's very flavorful right off the stove, unlike some soups which require a day or so for the full flavor to permeate the broth. I wouldn't call this a soup, though -- more like a barley stew. You would need to add about three times the liquid to make it a soup proper. If not, it is a good idea to watch it and make sure it doesn't dry out while it is simmering, and add more water or broth if necessary (I used about 1 1/2 times broth than called for; I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable). I added sundried tomatoes and used fresh parsley which worked well. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very hearty. Replaced garbanzos with pinto beans as that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I used half a cup of barley and chicken stock, otherwise everything was basically the same...and DELICIOUS. Even my healthy-food-averse husband had to admit the flavor was splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
WARNING!! THIS IS NOT VEGETARIAN. Unless you use vegetarian worstershire sauce, which we do. This was fantastic. So hearty and so much flavor. I did have to add 4 more cups of broth and it was still stew consistensy. Thank you so much for this recipe. This' a keeper for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This soup was great! The only changes I made were to sautee the chopped vege in 1tb of olive oil before adding the stock and spices, add a can of kidney beans, omit the salt and sugar (the vege stock I use has plenty of sodium in it), use a quarter cup of fresh parsley instead of the dried, and replace the Worcestershire sauce with low sodium soy sauce and a bit of apple cider vinegar (to make it vegan). I also put a few drops of chipotle tobasco in my serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soma
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I learned that I don't absolutely love barley, but that is just me, and it was still very, very good. I may substitute the barley for kidney beans next time, however. Very easy, even for this inexperienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is super yummy. I had to use vegetable bouillon, so my came out too salty, but it was still so good. I did not add the chickpeas or the curry because I didn't have them. Mine did get way too thick, kind of like a stew, but it doesn't matter. I will try more broth next time, and of course, regular broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
great soup - one of the few recipes that I don't adjust in any way! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States