Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent, easy and healthy. Did not use Worcestershire sauce as I don't like the taste, added extra curry instead for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frostedsugar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've made this soup twice the past month, and everyone (including my friends at work who are not vegetarian) said it was good and filling. One change I made was to add a can of white beans for a bit of extra protein. We're having a cold snap here in Arizona, so I decided to make soup tomorrow. I asked my husband what he wanted and he said to make this recipe...it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Used 1 pkg beef broth and water as out of veg stock. No zucchini or garbonzo beans so used leftover green&yellow beans, and rinsed chick peas. Also used 3/4 c barley, 1/3 c each of rice and macaroni. Left all other spices the same. Excellent soup! Had to be watered down some b/c of thickness but great. Comment was correct re pepper - don't used fresh ground -- too hot so use ordinary. Loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
omit the garbanzo beans and add spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mina t

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
We are trying to eat healthy at my house, and this certainly fits the bill. My husband thinks a meal MUST include meat, but this soup has so much flavor, he didn't miss the meat. We both loved it! I left out the sugar and added the zucchini the last 10 minutes so it would retain a little crunch. I made no other changes. Will definitely keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is simple, filling and healthy! I was out of a lot so.... substituted a can of white beans for the chick peas, beef broth instead of veggie, frozen Italian green beans in place of the zucchini. It is the kind of recipe that can be made with substitutions that you have in the pantry or fridge and it still tastes great! I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a little bite. I used no sugar at all!!! Great veggie meal!!! Also, might add that I read and followed the advice about the pepper and extra garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is quite good. I followed the recipe except I added some turnips that I needed to use up. I noticed a few reviewers commenting that this is a vegetarian recipe. It is not. Worcestershire sauce is not vegetarian unless you specifically seek out a vegetarian version at a specialty/health food store. Please do not make this with Lou & Perrins (or chicken/beef broth) and serve to your vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Just made this. It's beyond great. It's also so healthy. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I would put less barley or add more stock so it's thinner but it's an easy recipe to make. Just put everything in and let it simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Easy to make and very yummy! I make it with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We liked this for a think soup. I cut the recipe in half, except for the tomatoes, and I used chicken broth and threw in the shredded breast meat of some left over chicken. It was a simple "meal-in-a-pot" dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States