Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have made this many times and it is delicious. It has become a go-to soup for me. I typically cook it in the crockpot on low all night. The zucchini will break down if you cook it that long in a crock pot so mixing those in at the end works better. I also add whatever veggies I have on hand, usually broccoli and mushrooms. Also add 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. I absolutely love this recipe. Thank you Beaker1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely great just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This recipe was so easy and the soup turned out perfect! This recipe makes enough that my small family of 3 could eat it for lunch and/or dinner for several days and we enjoyed it every day Also, I was skeptical that cooking the barley in the soup would make it turn out mushy, but it still had that delicious chewy texture I love. I used fresh parsley, a half jar of left over tomato basil spaghetti sauce instead of chopped tomatoes and added mushrooms and peas to mine leaving the chickpeas out. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I love when I have everything in my kitchen for a recipe! I sauteed the onion, carrot, celery and a clove of garlic (minced)for about 5 minutes. I used 4 cups water and 4 cups vegetable broth(pre-warmed in microwave) and put everything in my slow cooker on low for about 4 hours. I bumped it up to high in the last hour to finish off the barley. We all love it, including the kids!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was a very good and simple recipe. Soup came out very good....very rich and tasty....I modified slightly by using mushrooms, yellow squash instead of zucchini and I forgot to add the garbanzo beans..(i think the beans would have been over kill. Also, i rough cut the vegetables for the stock and then discarded them after 90 minutes and added fresh diced veggies after....I hate mushy vegies in my soup. (also forgot the worchestire sauce...but the soup did not lack at all for taste and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe. It was packed with so much flavor that we did not miss meat. I could hardly wait to make it again! I made as is, including all the spices. I did not have bay leaves nor parsley. I added green & red pepper, as well as a hand full of green beans. I first sautéd the vegetables in a bit of olive oil to make them sweat and bring out flavor. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This soup came together quickly with the ingredients I already had in my pantry. I found it to be a very substantial soup. It will be great for fall and winter when I need something to warm me on a cold night. I used vegetable broth, an extra carrot and two zuchinnis because I like a thick soup. I may use some extra onion next time. The seasonings work great in this. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious. I'll make again and again. I forgot to add the sugar but not sure why it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is delicious. I have made this several times already. After the first time, it was a touch too peppery for my taste, so I started making it with less pepper. I also started making only half the recipe, as the full recipe makes ALOT of soup for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States