Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an excellent soup. I substituted the zucchini for extra carrots and celery. I also eliminated the tsp of salt, used no-salt vegetable broth and low-salt worcesterhire sauce. The other flavors were strong enough that salt wasn't missed in this soup. So healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow! This soup was so delicious! I'm sorry, I did use chicken broth instead of vegetable because, I didn't have vegetable but, I feel like I could almost mix this combination of ingredients with water and, it would be good! I actually used measuring spoons while making this and, the combination of the herbs and spices are just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious. Very easy to make and easy to add other vegetables you may like. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This soup was great. I love barley and the combination of barley and chick peas is excellent. The recipe looks great as written, but I made a couple changes, since I am not vegetarian. 1) Used beef broth - Swansons 2) Used fresh garlic and lots of fresh parsley 3) added one pound of browned, thinly sliced sweet Italian sausage. Also, I had no regular paprika on hand, and used smoked paprika, which went well with all the other flavors. Note: with the addition of sausage, there is no need to add extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great hearty soup. Even for those who aren't into veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have shared this recipe dozens of times. When someone eats this, the first thing they say is "Can I have the recipe?" I highly recommend it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim McIntyre
Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This soup was perfect! I recommended it to a couple friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Really good! I was surprised at how much flavor this soup had. I added some chicken for protein and a little extra garlic and used pinto beans instead of garbanzo beans since that was all I had. It was thick and filling. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this with beefstock & added celery & baby bella mushrooms. Made it in the crockpot & cooked on 8 hour setting. About hour 6 it got nice & thick. I thought it needed a little something, so I added a glug of dry sherry...mmm just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The best barley soup ever! Loved the little bit of curry flavor, all the healthy vitamins and minerals from the variety of vegetables and the great texture of the garbanzo beans and the barley. A keeper of a recipe! Jackie P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States