Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is an excellent vegetarian soup! I just recently started trying to cut out meat from my diet, but love soup. This is thick, hearty, and excellent - not even missing the meat. I'm on a low sodium diet, so I used 2 q unsalted chicken broth, low sodium garbonzo beans and rinsed them thouroghly, no salt added diced tomato, no salt peas instead of the zuchini, 3/4 cup quick cook barley, and everything else as directed. Super yummy! Will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This soup is so easy to make and delicious! Great recipe. I'm making this for the second time today, and the only mod is adding a shake of crushed red pepper for some zing! This will definitely become one of my standard vegetarian soups, along with Ina Garten's Split Pea Soup (made veg style) and Inn at Little Washington's red pepper soup (made veg style)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
In general, I like this recipe - the ingredients, the texture,and the fact that it is healthy. But it needs more flavor - some herbs and spices. I think if I got the right mix of herbs + spices this would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times, always a winner! I like to add the thinly sliced squash after the soup is done cooking. When it's cool enough to put in the fridge, the squash is done to perfection. I hate mushy squash! I like to use zucchini and summer squash for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a fantastic soup that my whole family enjoyed! There are very few recipes that satisfy everyone in this household so the fact that this was enjoyed by all speaks volumes! I didn't need to make any changes. All around great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Awesome homemade tasty soup! This recipe is a keeper in my favs - krazy kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe many times, with a few alternations. Didn't have zucchini, so used string beans. Didn't have garbanzo beans this time, so did without. Always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The very best and you can add additional vegetables as desired
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have never liked vegetable soup but had some barley and nothing for dinner, so I decided to try this. What a pleasant surprise! This is hearty and very delicious. Definitely the best veggie soup I have ever had and love the barley in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wow, this recipe is AMAZING, and I am very picky eater especially when it comes to grains.I did make slight changes, I half the dose for pearl barley, added 4 small potatoes and did not add tomatoes. I cooked it in slow cooker on high for 4 hours, it was YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States