Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely great just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This recipe was so easy and the soup turned out perfect! This recipe makes enough that my small family of 3 could eat it for lunch and/or dinner for several days and we enjoyed it every day Also, I was skeptical that cooking the barley in the soup would make it turn out mushy, but it still had that delicious chewy texture I love. I used fresh parsley, a half jar of left over tomato basil spaghetti sauce instead of chopped tomatoes and added mushrooms and peas to mine leaving the chickpeas out. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great recipe! I love when I have everything in my kitchen for a recipe! I sauteed the onion, carrot, celery and a clove of garlic (minced)for about 5 minutes. I used 4 cups water and 4 cups vegetable broth(pre-warmed in microwave) and put everything in my slow cooker on low for about 4 hours. I bumped it up to high in the last hour to finish off the barley. We all love it, including the kids!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was a very good and simple recipe. Soup came out very good....very rich and tasty....I modified slightly by using mushrooms, yellow squash instead of zucchini and I forgot to add the garbanzo beans..(i think the beans would have been over kill. Also, i rough cut the vegetables for the stock and then discarded them after 90 minutes and added fresh diced veggies after....I hate mushy vegies in my soup. (also forgot the worchestire sauce...but the soup did not lack at all for taste and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe. It was packed with so much flavor that we did not miss meat. I could hardly wait to make it again! I made as is, including all the spices. I did not have bay leaves nor parsley. I added green & red pepper, as well as a hand full of green beans. I first sautéd the vegetables in a bit of olive oil to make them sweat and bring out flavor. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This soup came together quickly with the ingredients I already had in my pantry. I found it to be a very substantial soup. It will be great for fall and winter when I need something to warm me on a cold night. I used vegetable broth, an extra carrot and two zuchinnis because I like a thick soup. I may use some extra onion next time. The seasonings work great in this. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious. I'll make again and again. I forgot to add the sugar but not sure why it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is delicious. I have made this several times already. After the first time, it was a touch too peppery for my taste, so I started making it with less pepper. I also started making only half the recipe, as the full recipe makes ALOT of soup for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I made this soup for a family dinner which has one vegan and the flavor of the soup was great with out celery. I made some changes to it the second time because well I don't like cooked carrots and im not vegan. I used chicken broth, parsnips, turnips, and rutabagas. Also i didn't put the zucchini in till just before i served it so that it wouldn't be mush. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States