Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
OMG!! This was amazing. I didn't have veggie broth or white wine so I used half chicken broth and half beef broth. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was fantastic! I doubled the ingredients, added parsnips, threw in spinach about 15 minutes prior to finish and used about 2/3 veg broth & 1/3 beef broth. I did add 2 lbs of stew beef, as I knew DH & DS would want meat in it! Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have been making this soup for a couple of years now. I make it exactly as stated and absolutely love it. I have passed it on to many of my friends who also rave about it. Thank You so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this recipe, exactly as it is, for my husband for lunch the other day and he absolutely loved it! I also love it and it is a wonderful, flavourful recipe for the fall!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Amazingly tasty for a veggie soup, and my kids both asked for seconds. This never happens. I did halve the amount of barley (we like brothy soup), and it only took about 60 min to finish. Suggest starting with only barley and stock, and then cut and add the other veggies in order of required cooking time (e.g., carrots, onion, celery, tomatoes, chickpeas, zucchini) Looking forward to trying it with other fall veggies like kohlrabi and parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Yummy. Made as is -- the first time I've cooked with barley -- and it served us well. Thanks, Beaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Landa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
What a perfect soup for the fall. The spices simmering away in the soup will fill your house with a wonderful aroma. I used chicken broth in place of vegetable and towards the end of cooking added some fresh baby spinach. WOW!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very tasty and hearty soup. I omitted the zucchini and added a can of peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Yum! Loved it. I sauteed the veg in olive oil first. Also, I added one diced portobello cap to the stew. I used 6 cups of water and 1/2 cup of barley which was the perfect consistency. Very, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States