Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this recipe, exactly as it is, for my husband for lunch the other day and he absolutely loved it! I also love it and it is a wonderful, flavourful recipe for the fall!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Amazingly tasty for a veggie soup, and my kids both asked for seconds. This never happens. I did halve the amount of barley (we like brothy soup), and it only took about 60 min to finish. Suggest starting with only barley and stock, and then cut and add the other veggies in order of required cooking time (e.g., carrots, onion, celery, tomatoes, chickpeas, zucchini) Looking forward to trying it with other fall veggies like kohlrabi and parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Yummy. Made as is -- the first time I've cooked with barley -- and it served us well. Thanks, Beaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Landa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
What a perfect soup for the fall. The spices simmering away in the soup will fill your house with a wonderful aroma. I used chicken broth in place of vegetable and towards the end of cooking added some fresh baby spinach. WOW!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very tasty and hearty soup. I omitted the zucchini and added a can of peas at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Yum! Loved it. I sauteed the veg in olive oil first. Also, I added one diced portobello cap to the stew. I used 6 cups of water and 1/2 cup of barley which was the perfect consistency. Very, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very good! I halved the recipe and subbed a couple things for availability, low sodium diet and personal preference- 3 cloves finely chopped marinated garlic for the powder; halved the barley again (1/4 cup); skipped the salt and sugar; used hot curry and smoked paprika; frozen organic mixed vegs instead of fresh carrot and zucchini; and a couple of finely chopped sundried tomatoes that had soaked in hot water for a few minutes instead of 1/2 can tomatoes. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil with a cup of thick-sliced baby portabellas, added 1/4 cup white wine and cooked it down a bit then added a quart of low sodium organic broth, the seasonings, low sodium chick peas and continued as directed. The barley took about an hour to cook so I threw in the frozen vegs about 10 minutes before it was done. The seasonings worked perfectly and the Worcestershire and mushrooms gave it a nice 'beefy' taste. The soup stayed soupy and never got too thick. Carnivore hubby loved it and complimented me several times. Neither of us missed the salt! Great vegan meal too, but be sure to sub liquid smoke or vegan Worcestershire for regular- it contains anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made this in the crock-pot. Smelled great!! I added some garlic & it is delicious. Will definitely make it again. It's in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
We really enjoy this soup. My five year old son asks me to make this :) I like to add mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe Beaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States