Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
followed recipes exactly so good on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this recipe! What a hearty, filling soup. I altered the recipe a tad for my liking, adding two diced potatoes and subbing out the Worcestershire for balsamic vinegar so the recipe would stay vegan. I also added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes to add spice. And instead of using two carrots or celery sticks, I used four large carrots, sliced, and an entire stalk of celery. I also sauteed the celery and onion in the bottom of the pot before adding the rest of the ingredients. Like a lot of the other reviews, I also found the soup extremely thick, so if you're looking for something more broth-y, either add an extra half quart of broth (or water) or sub out some of the barley. Also, this makes way more than 8 servings - I'm going to be eating it all week. Five star recipe! I can't wait to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love a thick soup ~ so this went over big for me!! Deeeelicious! I added grated cheese when served. Will def. make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this recipe almost as written. Substituted one minced fresh garlic clove for the garlic powder. Also in addition to the vegetables listed, I also added one turnip and about a fourth cup of rutabaga (neither of which I have ever cooked with before....when I was shopping I confused this recipe with another and so had bought a turnip and rutabaga - so threw them in). Also I am so used to cooking the aromatics first that it seemed wrong to me to just boil them all. So I cooked the garlic, onion, celery and carrot in some olive oil first, then added the rest of the fresh veggies and cooked them a while, then added the remaining ingredients. After cooking as indicated it wasn't like soup any more. It was like a solid! Maybe the extra veggies I added. So I stirred in about 8 oz more water to make it soup-like again, and cooked it just a little bit longer. When I tasted it I was unimpressed. It smelled a lot better than it tasted, and the flavor was bland. Then I figured out that the extra glass of water has diluted it, so I added about 1/2 tsp of all of the spices, including garlic powder. That made it taste really, really good. I especially like the combination of curry and worcestershire sauce, sugar and salt - made the flavor very different than anything I've ever tasted. So for my attempt at cooking with Barley, I would say not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved this soup and so did my teenage daughter. As you can tell by my user name, I'm not a good cook, but I followed this precisely and it was awesome. I did not have curry powder and used fresh garlic, but other than that, to the letter. I did not have an issue with it being too thick, it was a good soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Enjoyed the ease and health of this. I also enjoyed that I was running low on groceries and still could make this! I didn't have any regular barley so I threw in almost a cup of quick barley 20 min. before the soup was done. It definitely did not thicken the soup like regular barley would have. There was plenty of broth. Next time I will use regular barley. Didn't have curry so I put in chili powder like one reviewer did. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was great soup! My 9 year old wasn't thrilled with it, but my husband and I were. Healthy too! I think the only thing I added was corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Followed the recipe as written. Was a very good and hearty vegetable soup. I only gave it 4 stars because it lacked a "wow" factor. It was good, but not particularly memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I'm really sorry but we were not impressed with this recipe at all, and I did follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This soup is awesome! I left in all seasonings as written but added 2 extra cups water. I had a chayote squash and a sweet potato so I threw those in and it was great! It's really the spices and seasoning that give it flavor so any veggies will do I'm sure. It yields quite a bit so I froze the extra for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iclaudius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States