Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Followed the recipe as written. Was a very good and hearty vegetable soup. I only gave it 4 stars because it lacked a "wow" factor. It was good, but not particularly memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I'm really sorry but we were not impressed with this recipe at all, and I did follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This soup is awesome! I left in all seasonings as written but added 2 extra cups water. I had a chayote squash and a sweet potato so I threw those in and it was great! It's really the spices and seasoning that give it flavor so any veggies will do I'm sure. It yields quite a bit so I froze the extra for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iclaudius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Recipe was tasty as originally written, so don't quite understand why the contributer felt a need to add an additional comment, stating her recipe would be ruined if course pepper was used? I used course pepper (it's the only kind I buy) and it was perfectly fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made as written and my mouth was burning after eating. Spice overload! It wasn't terrible but I think I would need to leave out 3 or 4 spices next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Really~5stars x2~a true 10! This soup was so easy & perfect for a cold winter day. I used both lentils & barley, otherwise followed the recipe exactly,,,Thank You, Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good soup. I threw all of the ingredients into the crock pot and just let it simmer for several hours warming the house with it's fragrance on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
One of the best recipes I have tried, great soup for a cold winter afternoon. And the pickiest eater in the world even gave it 5 stars- this a man that won't touch anything with a vegetable in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I skipped the pepper and reduced the amount of barley from 1 C to 1/2 C. I used 4 diced tomatoes rather than canned. I cooked this soup in a crock pot set on high and it was completely done in about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Thought this was great! After reading all the variations, I made it w 4 cups veg broth, 2 cups water and added 28 oz can diced tomatoes. I used 1/3 C. Barley (the long cooking kind) used cannelli beans instead of garbanzo. I eliminated zucchini and added 1 - 1 1/2 c. fresh chopped green beans after 1 hr of simmering. The added apprx 6 oz chopped mushrooms for the last 20 mins and a bunch of fresh baby spinach for the last 10 (5 would have been better). Spice wise, I eliminated sugar and added a teaspoon of dried basil and dried oragano and a lg pinch of cayenne pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States