Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Amazing hearty vegetarian soup. Love it! It freezes well too, which is great for quick lunches for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good,healthy soup - entire family enjoyed it - Our 1st taste of barley in a soup & was a really nice option for rice - omitted the sugar,used kidney beans instead of garbanzo,chicken broth & added 3 seeded jalapeno peppers & a little tabasco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Love this soup! Made it last night and it was delicious. Had it for lunch today. Needed to add more broth as it was so thick but it was just as good. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great Recipe. I've made it several times now, and I find that it's a solid base that lends itself well to playing around with different seasonings. It's a definite "make at the beginning of the week and eat it throughout" kind of recipe. I usually add a few more veggies to it, and throw a clove of garlic in with the onion and sweat them a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmrscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Pretty much followed the recipe except i didn't have barley, so i substituted buckwheat groats. Also added a yellow squash and sauteed all vegies in a bit of olive oil before adding the rest. Additionally, i added in some hot turkey sausage. Really, excellent flavor. Very healthy!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe is great as is, but I did make a couple of changes the second time and liked it even more. Like other reviewers, I used real garlic instead of garlic powder. I also added in about two teaspoons of dill and that seemed to really kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I've already made it twice and it's my husbands new favorite! The second time I made it I altered the recipe by adding red peppers to the veggies and used fresh sauteed minced garlic instead of powder. I also used 1/2 paprika and 1/2 hungarian (spicy) paprika and left out the sugar to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I love this soup! It makes my veggie-loving heart happy. And my husband, who refuses veggies most days likes it too. I've added turkey sausage for him before - like the kielbasa kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Very hearty - perfect on a cold winter day! I added some chuck roast for my non-vegetarian family members. I also added more broth, so a touch more of the spices to keep the full flavor. This one will bring the cook compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States