Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I am not a big soup eater, and this didn't really excite me at all by reading it, but it sounded healthy and decently tasty. And I had everything on hand...turns out that it tastes very similar to something I used to eat when I was little :) What a wonderful taste. I wasn't too fond of the stewed tomatoes - taste was good, but the chunks were quite large. I will also admit that I didn't have 2 vegetable broths, so I used one beef and one veggie, but it was still really great. Thanks so much!! Will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
followed recipes exactly so good on a cold night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love this recipe! What a hearty, filling soup. I altered the recipe a tad for my liking, adding two diced potatoes and subbing out the Worcestershire for balsamic vinegar so the recipe would stay vegan. I also added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes to add spice. And instead of using two carrots or celery sticks, I used four large carrots, sliced, and an entire stalk of celery. I also sauteed the celery and onion in the bottom of the pot before adding the rest of the ingredients. Like a lot of the other reviews, I also found the soup extremely thick, so if you're looking for something more broth-y, either add an extra half quart of broth (or water) or sub out some of the barley. Also, this makes way more than 8 servings - I'm going to be eating it all week. Five star recipe! I can't wait to experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love a thick soup ~ so this went over big for me!! Deeeelicious! I added grated cheese when served. Will def. make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this recipe almost as written. Substituted one minced fresh garlic clove for the garlic powder. Also in addition to the vegetables listed, I also added one turnip and about a fourth cup of rutabaga (neither of which I have ever cooked with before....when I was shopping I confused this recipe with another and so had bought a turnip and rutabaga - so threw them in). Also I am so used to cooking the aromatics first that it seemed wrong to me to just boil them all. So I cooked the garlic, onion, celery and carrot in some olive oil first, then added the rest of the fresh veggies and cooked them a while, then added the remaining ingredients. After cooking as indicated it wasn't like soup any more. It was like a solid! Maybe the extra veggies I added. So I stirred in about 8 oz more water to make it soup-like again, and cooked it just a little bit longer. When I tasted it I was unimpressed. It smelled a lot better than it tasted, and the flavor was bland. Then I figured out that the extra glass of water has diluted it, so I added about 1/2 tsp of all of the spices, including garlic powder. That made it taste really, really good. I especially like the combination of curry and worcestershire sauce, sugar and salt - made the flavor very different than anything I've ever tasted. So for my attempt at cooking with Barley, I would say not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved this soup and so did my teenage daughter. As you can tell by my user name, I'm not a good cook, but I followed this precisely and it was awesome. I did not have curry powder and used fresh garlic, but other than that, to the letter. I did not have an issue with it being too thick, it was a good soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Enjoyed the ease and health of this. I also enjoyed that I was running low on groceries and still could make this! I didn't have any regular barley so I threw in almost a cup of quick barley 20 min. before the soup was done. It definitely did not thicken the soup like regular barley would have. There was plenty of broth. Next time I will use regular barley. Didn't have curry so I put in chili powder like one reviewer did. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was great soup! My 9 year old wasn't thrilled with it, but my husband and I were. Healthy too! I think the only thing I added was corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Followed the recipe as written. Was a very good and hearty vegetable soup. I only gave it 4 stars because it lacked a "wow" factor. It was good, but not particularly memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I'm really sorry but we were not impressed with this recipe at all, and I did follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States