Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
What a wonderful, satisfying, hearty, feel good soup! I substituted chicken stock for the vegetable broth and sauted several cloves of chopped garlic with the chopped onion in a little olive oil before proceeding with the recipe and omitted the garlic powder. This is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Thank you for sharing this wonderful aromatic hearty soup. I had everything on hand except zucchini so I used one green pepper. Also added one cup of V8 juice to thin it out just a little. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Excellent ! I thinned this comforting veggie soup some. Organic is definately the way to go.I don't want all kinds of unpronounceable chemicals in my food ! I will make this often, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Wow, this was a really tasty soup! I was surprised - somehow the combination of a bit of curry powder and paprika gave it such a nice flavor. I do admit that I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, but I bet it would be great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This was very good, much better than I thought it would be. I did add more broth and more veggies. I also through in some green beans. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This soup is fabulous! I used beef broth instead of vegetable, but kept everything else exactly the same. The soup is VERY thick, just the way I like it. I will be making this soup again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
All I can say is WOW!!! What a GREAT recipe to make on a cold December day. My son said, "I pay $3 a can at the store for a soup that is not half as good as this." I stuck to the recipe exactly as stated. Try it. You will LOVE it. Guaranteed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I followed all directions - except for- I had a half bag of stir fry veggies that I added. I am a soup snob, but this was soooo good! I also used one can of beef broth, and a 2/3 quater package of LeGout Au Jus mix. Unbeatable recipe. The curry scared me, but I am sooo happy I included it. Next time I have some Prime Rib leftovers, I will definetely add them. Thank you so much Beaker1. I love great vegetarian soups, and the choice to add meat. Joni K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Broth tasted great. We added red potatoes and a frozen mixed vegetable pack. We omitted the garbanzo beans. We also sauteed garlic and onion instead of the garlic powder. Great for a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Absolutely excellent soup! I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, only modifying the amount of barley I used (3/4 cup still makes a pretty thick soup). I wouldn't change a thing about it! Organic broth and veggies are definitely the way to go! This is also a great crockpot recipe! I threw everything in and let it cook on high about 4 hours and then reduced the heat to low for serving. Thanks for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States