Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing, wonderful recipe and very, very easy. I did as suggested and used more broth and less barley. I also added 1 diced potato and used a fajita marinade instead of Worcestershire sauce (vegetarian). I cooked it all day in a slow cooker. This one goes in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tannis
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Mmmmm yummy delicious soup! I made this today and seasoned exactly as the recipe stated. As far as the additives, I put in the onion, carrot, celery & bareley. I didn't have zucchini but instead used some left over green bell pepper that I had on hand. I used spicy petite diced tomatoes and a six bean mixture as opposed to just garbanzo beans- turned out excellent! A nice hearty warm flavor to compliment and very cold and snowy day! I will definitely make this soup in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this is the crockpot using what I had around the house so did not use carrots, celery, zucchini or curry powder. Since my husband simply can't eat anything vegetarian I added some diced Hungarian bacon and used about a cup of beef broth mixed with Italian herbs that I had leftover from making Italian beef sandwiches. I added another cup of broth later but that's all the liquid I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an excellent soup. I substituted the zucchini for extra carrots and celery. I also eliminated the tsp of salt, used no-salt vegetable broth and low-salt worcesterhire sauce. The other flavors were strong enough that salt wasn't missed in this soup. So healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow! This soup was so delicious! I'm sorry, I did use chicken broth instead of vegetable because, I didn't have vegetable but, I feel like I could almost mix this combination of ingredients with water and, it would be good! I actually used measuring spoons while making this and, the combination of the herbs and spices are just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious. Very easy to make and easy to add other vegetables you may like. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This soup was great. I love barley and the combination of barley and chick peas is excellent. The recipe looks great as written, but I made a couple changes, since I am not vegetarian. 1) Used beef broth - Swansons 2) Used fresh garlic and lots of fresh parsley 3) added one pound of browned, thinly sliced sweet Italian sausage. Also, I had no regular paprika on hand, and used smoked paprika, which went well with all the other flavors. Note: with the addition of sausage, there is no need to add extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great hearty soup. Even for those who aren't into veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have shared this recipe dozens of times. When someone eats this, the first thing they say is "Can I have the recipe?" I highly recommend it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim McIntyre
Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This soup was perfect! I recommended it to a couple friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States