Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was a hit with everyone in my house. I loved it for several reasons: a) Makes a lot of soup! For two adults and one toddler we had enough for dinner one night and lunch leftovers for two days. b) One-pot meal, which means hardly any dishes. c) It's healthy. d) It's even better as leftovers. I made a couple of changes. I added ground beef. I just threw in a pound of ground beef that was still partially frozen, and by the time the soup was ready it had cooked through. I also discovered at the last minute that I was out of diced tomatoes, so I used a can of condensed tomato soup and added an additional can of water instead. I'm sure I would have loved it as-is, though, because my favorite things were elements I didn't change: the curry powder makes the flavor special and somewhat unusual, and the garbanzo beans are amazing after 90 minutes of simmering. They get all buttery and delicious. I'll definitely be putting this into our winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this last night exactly as the recipe reads. It was simple, hearty, and delicious! Both my husband and five year old daughter agreed that it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
wonderful soup. it's very thick, so it's more like a stew to me. i've made it a few times and it always turns out great. i did substitute the bean for lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Ah-mazing. Can't believe a soup can have so much flavor in just a small amount of time. Per other reviews, I put less barley in (or more broth) because I don't like my soup toooo thick. Made it a few times w/out the curry powder bc I didn't have it, and I must say I think I like it better that way. But even as is....still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing, wonderful recipe and very, very easy. I did as suggested and used more broth and less barley. I also added 1 diced potato and used a fajita marinade instead of Worcestershire sauce (vegetarian). I cooked it all day in a slow cooker. This one goes in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tannis
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Mmmmm yummy delicious soup! I made this today and seasoned exactly as the recipe stated. As far as the additives, I put in the onion, carrot, celery & bareley. I didn't have zucchini but instead used some left over green bell pepper that I had on hand. I used spicy petite diced tomatoes and a six bean mixture as opposed to just garbanzo beans- turned out excellent! A nice hearty warm flavor to compliment and very cold and snowy day! I will definitely make this soup in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this is the crockpot using what I had around the house so did not use carrots, celery, zucchini or curry powder. Since my husband simply can't eat anything vegetarian I added some diced Hungarian bacon and used about a cup of beef broth mixed with Italian herbs that I had leftover from making Italian beef sandwiches. I added another cup of broth later but that's all the liquid I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is an excellent soup. I substituted the zucchini for extra carrots and celery. I also eliminated the tsp of salt, used no-salt vegetable broth and low-salt worcesterhire sauce. The other flavors were strong enough that salt wasn't missed in this soup. So healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow! This soup was so delicious! I'm sorry, I did use chicken broth instead of vegetable because, I didn't have vegetable but, I feel like I could almost mix this combination of ingredients with water and, it would be good! I actually used measuring spoons while making this and, the combination of the herbs and spices are just AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious. Very easy to make and easy to add other vegetables you may like. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States