Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
1.7.13 - This was a very good and easy soup. I discovered too late that I only had one carrot and no zucchini (which I don't like anyway), so I increased the celery. Per the advice of other reviewers, I added two additional cups of broth. I used the full amount of barley. This is best with additional freshly ground pepper added to each bowl. Due to a slightly off taste, I may replace the garlic powder with fresh garlic next time. UPDATE: This is even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great Recipe!! I used 1 quart chicken broth, 1 quart water with 8 beef bullion cubes for the broth. I added 2 cooked cubed chicken thighs, and a yellow squash and eggplant to the recipe. I think the combination of the curry powder and the worcestershire sauce is what makes it. So interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this hearty and healthy dish. I rinsed the barley a few times before and it did not get overly thick. I also substituted the veggie broth with beef broth and added a teaspoon of cayenne and a tablespoon of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly( except for some mushrooms I had). It is perfect big hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Best vegetable soup I've ever eaten!! Easy to make and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Really easy and very tasty. Makes a large portion so we can have it for lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have made this many times and it is delicious. It has become a go-to soup for me. I typically cook it in the crockpot on low all night. The zucchini will break down if you cook it that long in a crock pot so mixing those in at the end works better. I also add whatever veggies I have on hand, usually broccoli and mushrooms. Also add 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. I absolutely love this recipe. Thank you Beaker1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely great just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This recipe was so easy and the soup turned out perfect! This recipe makes enough that my small family of 3 could eat it for lunch and/or dinner for several days and we enjoyed it every day Also, I was skeptical that cooking the barley in the soup would make it turn out mushy, but it still had that delicious chewy texture I love. I used fresh parsley, a half jar of left over tomato basil spaghetti sauce instead of chopped tomatoes and added mushrooms and peas to mine leaving the chickpeas out. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States