Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times, always a winner! I like to add the thinly sliced squash after the soup is done cooking. When it's cool enough to put in the fridge, the squash is done to perfection. I hate mushy squash! I like to use zucchini and summer squash for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was a fantastic soup that my whole family enjoyed! There are very few recipes that satisfy everyone in this household so the fact that this was enjoyed by all speaks volumes! I didn't need to make any changes. All around great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Awesome homemade tasty soup! This recipe is a keeper in my favs - krazy kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have used this recipe many times, with a few alternations. Didn't have zucchini, so used string beans. Didn't have garbanzo beans this time, so did without. Always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The very best and you can add additional vegetables as desired
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have never liked vegetable soup but had some barley and nothing for dinner, so I decided to try this. What a pleasant surprise! This is hearty and very delicious. Definitely the best veggie soup I have ever had and love the barley in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wow, this recipe is AMAZING, and I am very picky eater especially when it comes to grains.I did make slight changes, I half the dose for pearl barley, added 4 small potatoes and did not add tomatoes. I cooked it in slow cooker on high for 4 hours, it was YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this earlier in the week during a tummy bug recovery. This stuff is AMAZING! The only changes I made was to use 1/2 veggie broth and 1/2 tomato juice (because of what I had on hand); briefly saute together the onions, carrots, and celery before adding the rest; and I used quick barley and added it about 30 minutes before serving. The curry powder made this. The flavor was out of this world! My husband ate FIVE bowls, FIVE! And he's usually the firs to ask where the meat is. He didn't even miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Too thick, more like sludge. I guess I'm more of a noodle girl than barley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
1.7.13 - This was a very good and easy soup. I discovered too late that I only had one carrot and no zucchini (which I don't like anyway), so I increased the celery. Per the advice of other reviewers, I added two additional cups of broth. I used the full amount of barley. This is best with additional freshly ground pepper added to each bowl. Due to a slightly off taste, I may replace the garlic powder with fresh garlic next time. UPDATE: This is even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States