Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was a very good and simple recipe. Soup came out very good....very rich and tasty....I modified slightly by using mushrooms, yellow squash instead of zucchini and I forgot to add the garbanzo beans..(i think the beans would have been over kill. Also, i rough cut the vegetables for the stock and then discarded them after 90 minutes and added fresh diced veggies after....I hate mushy vegies in my soup. (also forgot the worchestire sauce...but the soup did not lack at all for taste and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe. It was packed with so much flavor that we did not miss meat. I could hardly wait to make it again! I made as is, including all the spices. I did not have bay leaves nor parsley. I added green & red pepper, as well as a hand full of green beans. I first sautéd the vegetables in a bit of olive oil to make them sweat and bring out flavor. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This soup came together quickly with the ingredients I already had in my pantry. I found it to be a very substantial soup. It will be great for fall and winter when I need something to warm me on a cold night. I used vegetable broth, an extra carrot and two zuchinnis because I like a thick soup. I may use some extra onion next time. The seasonings work great in this. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious. I'll make again and again. I forgot to add the sugar but not sure why it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is delicious. I have made this several times already. After the first time, it was a touch too peppery for my taste, so I started making it with less pepper. I also started making only half the recipe, as the full recipe makes ALOT of soup for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I made this soup for a family dinner which has one vegan and the flavor of the soup was great with out celery. I made some changes to it the second time because well I don't like cooked carrots and im not vegan. I used chicken broth, parsnips, turnips, and rutabagas. Also i didn't put the zucchini in till just before i served it so that it wouldn't be mush. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Excellent seasoning--and you can add or leave out whatever you choose without sacrificing flavor, in my opinion! I use chicken broth and Great Northern or white kidney beans if I don't have garbanzos. Also added a few drops of Louisiana hot sauce the last time I made it--we loved that addition! Easy to throw all ingredients in the crockpot, set it on high for 5 hours and you've got a healthy and tasty meal. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This soup is SO GOOD. I followed the recipe exactly and I won't change a thing next time either. Since I became vegetarian one of the things I always really miss is beef barley soup, but this soup is even better! It does have a bit of a kick so if you're really averse to spicy you might want to cut back on the black pepper/curry powder/paprika, but it was perfect for me. So delicious, simple to make, and filling and nutritious too. I really can't rate this highly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was a hit with everyone in my house. I loved it for several reasons: a) Makes a lot of soup! For two adults and one toddler we had enough for dinner one night and lunch leftovers for two days. b) One-pot meal, which means hardly any dishes. c) It's healthy. d) It's even better as leftovers. I made a couple of changes. I added ground beef. I just threw in a pound of ground beef that was still partially frozen, and by the time the soup was ready it had cooked through. I also discovered at the last minute that I was out of diced tomatoes, so I used a can of condensed tomato soup and added an additional can of water instead. I'm sure I would have loved it as-is, though, because my favorite things were elements I didn't change: the curry powder makes the flavor special and somewhat unusual, and the garbanzo beans are amazing after 90 minutes of simmering. They get all buttery and delicious. I'll definitely be putting this into our winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this last night exactly as the recipe reads. It was simple, hearty, and delicious! Both my husband and five year old daughter agreed that it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States