Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Very good! I used 4 tsp of Vegetable Better Than Bouillon (I always use half the recommended amount - too salty otherwise imo), no zucchini so stirred in fresh spinach once the soup was off the heat, reduced the barley by 2 TBSP. I had no curry powder so replaced it w/generous pinches of: cumin, ground chili, turmeric, coriander, ginger. My soup was done in 80 minutes, it was still a "soupy" consistency however did thicken upon cooling, as expected. I thin the leftovers with a small amount of stock or water. I'm sure this recipe could take a lot of variation, I would like to try more vegetables, different beans, thyme in place of curry spices etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Made this for hubby and myself for lunch today, it was amazing! Lots of veggies, I did add chopped mini potatoes as well. Fresh chives and garlic fronds from the garden and a sprinkle of grated parm finished it off. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Best vegetable soup ever! Even my picky kids like it. My son says it's addictive. Tried this as is, but my kids like it better without the chickpeas and barley so I just leave those out. Occasionally, I add parsnips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Very good as is, or as close to as is that I could get with what I had on hand.I did not have zucchini so I substituted fresh mushrooms. I used the basic vegetable stock recipe from this site to start with. Everything came together very nicely even though I didn't have fresh herbs. Great flavor and added a dash of red wine vinegar at the end with some fresh grated Parmesan on top. I also actually only had coarse ground pepper, but did not ruin it at all. Thanks for the recipe, definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
We were not impressed with this soup. I did use 1 quart veg and 1 quart beef stock for flavor but it did not help. There is no real flavor maybe more beef stock or actual beef to enrich the flavor would work. Lot of chopping for nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Wonderful. I did add chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My family loved this soup. I reduced the barley by half because I didn't want the soup as thick as it is in the picture. This was the perfect amount, in my opinion. I served it over mozzarella balls (pearl size) and let the hot soup make them all melty. My daughter and husband loved this addition. I served it with meat pies from our local Middle Eastern bakery. It was the perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was such a delicious recipe! With the temperature at 2* and the wind chill making it feel even worse here in NY, this was the perfect dish to make last night. I kept it vegan and subbed red wine vinegar for the Worcestershire sauce as another reviewer suggested. I had diced tomatoes with jalapeño in the pantry, so I used that. It was wonderful and got rave reviews! So simple to make and a wonderful, warming dish. Don't forget the crusty bread and a glass of red wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We all loved it! I didn't have any meat in the house and noticed I had lots of garbanzo beans. I plugged "garbanzo beans" into the search ingredient feature of Allrecipes.com and this was one of my choices! I didn't have vegetable broth, garlic powder or canned diced tomatoes, so I used chicken bullion, 1garlic clove crushed and 2 large tomatoes diced. There are lots of spices in this recipe which I love! Other than my notations, I followed it exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent!!! I used half the barley and beans as I like a lot of broth. This was great for a wintry evening and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States