Beacon Hill Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These were in an aunt's collection from her in-law who died in 1923. So yeah its an oldy. Aunt Jo's had 1/2 c cocoanut in it. I toast that and toast the nuts (try walnuts!) Warm the egg whites (room temp at least) and beat in the sugar by tablespoonfuls over the 7-10 min beat time. If you have it, use superfine sugar (not powdered sugar). Use the best chocolate chips you can afford (60% cocoa or higher)and add a smidge of coffee powder for the gourmet. A dry day makes for less chewy insides and parchment paper under 'em produces a more "peaked" result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These cookies are absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. However, do remember to peak the egg whites to really stiff peaks (about 10 minutes to get to that stage) and if you try to make these on a very humid day, the egg whites might not set up as well. Humidity tends to make the egg whites fall. Also, cool the chocolate before adding it to the egg white mixture as the heat may make the egg whites fall while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I, too, lost this recipe and was thrilled to find it. They are out of this world. For those of you who had runny cookies, you may not have beaten the egg whites enough. Just a thought. Melt in your mouth cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
picked this recipe because it shares the same name as my children's school.this will be are weekend treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These cookies were just plain good. Nothing to write home about. Although if I make them again, I would leave them in the oven for only about 8-9 minutes. At 10 minutes they were a little dry and dark at the bottom of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These cookies were a disappointment. They taste OK, but they were runny and they all spread together. I thoroughly greased the pan, but I had to resort to scraping the cookies off with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I have no idea what I did wrong but they just spread all over the pan and was not a round cookie like in the picture it was like a pancake. Please help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Heavenly!! I love the flat shape and texture of these, crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Ugh - these cookies tasted SO good except that mine came out looking like little fudge morsels, which although was really very tasty, I'm quite certain was not how they were meant to look. I'll have to come back to these to practice perfecting my egg white beating skills. If you ARE interested in "fudge morsels" then I suggest allowing your egg whites to get weepy, lol. :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Ok, not great...really sweet and I even cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. Thanks anyway, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States