Bazlama - Turkish Flat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
In Turkey, we make our bazlamas stuffed w/feta and parsley, ground beef w/tomato, or mash potatoes...Just flatten the dough and put a thin layer of crumbled feta and chopped parsley, flip one side to cover the stuffing (like an omelet) and cook both sides...Eat with sour cherry jam and hot tea as our usual Sunday breakfast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Epic deliciousness! I felt like a hobbit eating these! I think this would make for a fantastic pizza crust, so I froze half the dough in a tight, saran-wrapped ball for using another day. The only trouble that I encountered was transferring a dough round onto the griddle, as it didn't really retain any round shape. (And was stickier than I anticipated.) But forget the shape b/c the taste was simple and divine, and even better when I slathered it in the "Basic Hummus" recipe from here. When I defrost the remaining dough, I plan on either trying it as pizza crust, or making smaller flat-bread "balls" on the griddle, as opposed to the big floppy (albeit, scrumptious!) dough pile that I had today. Thank you for a great recipe sharwna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. I used olive oil to cook it and it was fabulous! I would recommend halving the recipeas it yielded a total of 8 flats. (I did try freezing half of it as well and I wouldn't recommend it as the dough doesn't rise well after it's defrosted and it drys out pretty fast.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I couldn't resist adding some minced garlic to the dough (as well as a few spices) and that worked well. Like another reviewer, I ended up with 8 rounds (cooked on a skillet) rather than 4. I was able to cook them without any sort of oil or butter on the pan at all. Mine took closer to three minutes per side (rather than 1). This may be because I did not form thin enough discs though. Either way, they were delicious and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Amazing! I did not have the yogurt so I substituted sour cream. Made one batch as stated and another adding chopped cilantro and lime zest. Great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just made this recipe for the first time. Yum! We found our new favorite flatbread recipe. Like others noted, I found that the recipe made 8 tortilla sized rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Made this twice. Once exactly as the recipe read, and once adding fresh garlic and herbs. The second batch was tastier, but not as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I stuffed 2 rounds with black olive tapenade and 2 rounds with with grilled artichoes in olive oil..Oh my were sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this was delectable. a gorgeously simple recipe, and it was devoured joyfully by friends & family alike. thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I can literally count on less than one hand the amount of times per year that we eat out, but when we do happen to be in a bind, we try to eat at Subway or something that will have a lot of fresh veggies. My hubs loves their flatbread sandwiches. Now I can cross Subway off my list of places we ever need to eat! This is even better! My dough made 8 LARGE rounds and it was sticky and took a lot of extra flour. I dry toasted it on a nonstick skillet. In the future I would use less salt. I made grilled eggplant sandwiches with onion and tomato and salted NOTHING so it balanced out. But on any other occasion this bread would be waaay salty, and I love my salt! I will definitely be cooking up extra of this to freeze for quick egg sandwich breakfasts, dinners, heck, anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States