Bayou's Mardi Gras Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is fantastic! I changed a few things because of ingredients I had around the house: I simplified the ingredients, didn't have dry mustard or celery so I used a little dijon instead and skipped the celery. I left out the zuchini and put in a green bell instead to give the green color. added some green onions too. I did not use brown sugar (which I'm sure would taste great) but opted for granulated splenda for diet reasons. It was such a hit that my grandmother who is the amazing cook of the family wanted the recipe. Didn't tell my grandmother about the splenda though. She would have spit it out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe for a Mardi Gras banquet i did, the salad used the traditional colors, and everyone enjoyed it. Some thought it was a little spicy because i added a little extra horseradish to it. But overall it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great coleslaw! The dill adds a different dimension to the flavour. Good idea to eat it all in one sitting as it does become soggy very quickly. However, if you can use it all in at the one meal it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Terrific!!! Makes a lot. I made it for a fall picnic as an alternative to potato salad or store bought (heavy dressing) cole slaw. I made one modification; instead of shredding the cabbage, I chopped it so that it isn't as wet and limp. I mixed a third of the slaw up at first then mixed up more as it got low. I could also save any leftovers since the dressing was separate. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious this salad is. I brought it to Bunco last night and everyone loved it and was very vocal about how good it was. It is a very pretty salad; and we were all looking forward to having some. The dressing is wonderful. I thought there might have been too much going on in the dressing, but the flavors all blend well. I did add extra brown sugar (just a little, to taste), as I felt it was a little bitter as written. I had to use three zucchini and three yellow peppers, but that could have been because my cabbage was too big. They were all the same size at the store. All in all, beautiful, delicious and crowd pleasing salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a wonderful, colorful, tasty!! slaw recipe. Our dinner club had a New Orleans themed meal. Newspapers covered the table adding to the fun, casual, atmosphere; spicy bbq peel and eat shrimp was the entree and this delicous slaw was one of the sides. You know we all had to have the recipe! Finish the meal off with banana's foster and you can die happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be a little hot. Must be the horseradish even though i could not taste the horseradish just the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I had high hopes for this and was looking for something from our usual coleslaw but holy moly this was really bitter. We just did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I served this for a Mardi Gras dinner and it was as beautiful as it was tasty. One of my favorite salads now. Big hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Yummy! I followed the recipe as written. Hint don't mix the full sauce recipe into the slaw mix. Mix just enough sauce to coat the slaw mix about 20 minutes before serving then it won't be too soggie. Add more sauce if needed just before serving. I took it to a Mardi Gras party in a clear glass bowl and it looked pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States