Bayou's Bodacious Pork Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I don't have a smoker, so I used 1/2 the recipe to cover a pork butt and popped it into my slow cooker on high for about 6 hours. I shredded the meat, pulled-pork style, removed the fat from the drippings and mixed it all into the meat. My family enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
we really enjoyed this on ribs.. i was worried about it being too salty since it called for kosher salt and i was using table salt so i cut back a little.. but next time will use the full amount as that's the only thing we felt it was missing.. didn't use the file powder and think i'd have to order it online or find it in some specialty store.. also only used 1/3 of the thyme.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is insanely good! I just used it on a 14lb. pork shoulder picnic. Rubbed it on yesterday and put it in the Treager smoker for 16 hours today. As luck would have it Safeway had file as a new item.:) I left out the salt (CHF) but smoked it tastes salted anyway. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I scaled this recipe down to 36 servings and had more than plenty for my rack of ribs. I really liked all of the different flavors that I have not seen in other rub recipes. I omitted the file and the tyme only because I did not have any on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great rub! Love that it made extra so I have a jar on hand. Used on brisket and ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
We smoked a 200 lbs. pig (not confinement) this past weekend and used this rub recipe, after making a few small changes ~ Starting off we doubled everything, then tasted and thought it was still too tame so we added another 1 cup of spicy paprika, 1 cup smoked paprika, 1 cup of reg. paprika, 3/4 cup black pepper, and instead of each of the herbs I used 1 cup of Italian herb mix and left out the dill weed and the File powder (couldn't find File in our stores) The day before the party we injected our brine every 6" and let that absorb.The next day about 4 hours before we started the smoking we applied a heavy dose of oil and inserted garlic cloves deep into the muscle then started the dry rub and placed him on racks lined with heavy foil to retain the juices as "Sally" began her 8 hour smoke. Turned out great, very tender & not dried out at all! We had several ask what rub we used, and by the way sauce was not needed, the meat had enough flavor on its own! This rub is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I coated my pork butts with this rub before I smoked them. AWESOME !!!! Dynamite flavor and a nice crispy bark on my pork.. Will be keeping this on my shelf for all of my smoking !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snappy cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was a great rub for pork roast. I also used it on steaks before grilling. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I cut this back to TWELVE servings. I followed the recipe exact only I omitted the file powder only because I could not find it anywhere and I don't have money to order special ingredients for one recipe. Even so, we REALLY liked this rub. I mixed it with a half cup of flour and coated pork chops with it--absolutely delicious. NO leftovers. NOTE: When I cut this back to 12 servings, this coated 6 biggish pork chops (with the half cup of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was a fantastic rub... tried it out on a nice pork butt on our grill. Only thing I didn't use was the file powder - couldn't find it. But I'm still looking, and want to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States