Bayou's Bodacious Pork Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I cut this back to TWELVE servings. I followed the recipe exact only I omitted the file powder only because I could not find it anywhere and I don't have money to order special ingredients for one recipe. Even so, we REALLY liked this rub. I mixed it with a half cup of flour and coated pork chops with it--absolutely delicious. NO leftovers. NOTE: When I cut this back to 12 servings, this coated 6 biggish pork chops (with the half cup of flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I don't have a smoker, so I used 1/2 the recipe to cover a pork butt and popped it into my slow cooker on high for about 6 hours. I shredded the meat, pulled-pork style, removed the fat from the drippings and mixed it all into the meat. My family enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
yes, this recipe makes alot of rub. i cut it down to a third to use on a pork butt and i had enough rub to season at least 2. this is by far the best rub i have ever used. i love the addition of file' in this recipe. this will now be my go to recipe for any meat calling for a spice rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was a fantastic rub... tried it out on a nice pork butt on our grill. Only thing I didn't use was the file powder - couldn't find it. But I'm still looking, and want to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was a great rub for pork roast. I also used it on steaks before grilling. They were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I coated my pork butts with this rub before I smoked them. AWESOME !!!! Dynamite flavor and a nice crispy bark on my pork.. Will be keeping this on my shelf for all of my smoking !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snappy cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great rub! Love that it made extra so I have a jar on hand. Used on brisket and ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I scaled this recipe down to 36 servings and had more than plenty for my rack of ribs. I really liked all of the different flavors that I have not seen in other rub recipes. I omitted the file and the tyme only because I did not have any on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Axman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is insanely good! I just used it on a 14lb. pork shoulder picnic. Rubbed it on yesterday and put it in the Treager smoker for 16 hours today. As luck would have it Safeway had file as a new item.:) I left out the salt (CHF) but smoked it tastes salted anyway. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good rub used on beer can chicken and had a great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States