Bayou's Bodacious Pork Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I have had the opportunity to use his rub on chicken, beef & pork during 'low &slow' smoking sessions with wonderful results but pork is this dry rubs' true calling! The unique flavor of the dill and gumbo file in this rub makes for a savory experience with a very subtle sweet finish from the brown sugar although I think I will add a little more sugar and cayenne for the next batch as we like our BBQ sweet & spicy. Picnic shoulder and ribs come out super flavorful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
A pretty good Rub. I have a couple retail rubs I like better but I don't have them on hand all the time or know their recipe. Luckily I have File powder so this one was a sinch to make and have on hand. I prefer to coat the meat w/ cheap prepared american yellow mustard to make the rub stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gravy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good rub used on beer can chicken and had a great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I don't have a smoker, so I used 1/2 the recipe to cover a pork butt and popped it into my slow cooker on high for about 6 hours. I shredded the meat, pulled-pork style, removed the fat from the drippings and mixed it all into the meat. My family enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
we really enjoyed this on ribs.. i was worried about it being too salty since it called for kosher salt and i was using table salt so i cut back a little.. but next time will use the full amount as that's the only thing we felt it was missing.. didn't use the file powder and think i'd have to order it online or find it in some specialty store.. also only used 1/3 of the thyme.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is insanely good! I just used it on a 14lb. pork shoulder picnic. Rubbed it on yesterday and put it in the Treager smoker for 16 hours today. As luck would have it Safeway had file as a new item.:) I left out the salt (CHF) but smoked it tastes salted anyway. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I scaled this recipe down to 36 servings and had more than plenty for my rack of ribs. I really liked all of the different flavors that I have not seen in other rub recipes. I omitted the file and the tyme only because I did not have any on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Axman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great rub! Love that it made extra so I have a jar on hand. Used on brisket and ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
We smoked a 200 lbs. pig (not confinement) this past weekend and used this rub recipe, after making a few small changes ~ Starting off we doubled everything, then tasted and thought it was still too tame so we added another 1 cup of spicy paprika, 1 cup smoked paprika, 1 cup of reg. paprika, 3/4 cup black pepper, and instead of each of the herbs I used 1 cup of Italian herb mix and left out the dill weed and the File powder (couldn't find File in our stores) The day before the party we injected our brine every 6" and let that absorb.The next day about 4 hours before we started the smoking we applied a heavy dose of oil and inserted garlic cloves deep into the muscle then started the dry rub and placed him on racks lined with heavy foil to retain the juices as "Sally" began her 8 hour smoke. Turned out great, very tender & not dried out at all! We had several ask what rub we used, and by the way sauce was not needed, the meat had enough flavor on its own! This rub is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I coated my pork butts with this rub before I smoked them. AWESOME !!!! Dynamite flavor and a nice crispy bark on my pork.. Will be keeping this on my shelf for all of my smoking !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States