Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I've made these a couple of times now as written, minus the cayenne, and they are seriously fantastic. The sauce is a little on the loose side, but is amazingly flavorful. The cooking technique and timings are spot on. I butter my bread and add garlic powder before toasting, and use a thick sliced baguette or Cuban loaf. One point cannot be stressed enough....and that is to have everything prepped and within arms reach, because this is a super-fast cook. Chalk up another win for Chef John....incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I had never made scallops before, and chose this recipe because it looked good. I followed the recipe as written except that I used 1 tbsp. dried parsley because I didn't have fresh, and left out the cayenne because none of us like "hot" foods. I served the scallops as a main dish without the bread, and spooned some of the butter sauce over them. They were very tender and everyone loved them. Suggestions I have for anyone trying this recipe are 1) have all of the ingredients measured and ready to go before you start. Each step gets done very quickly. 2) Arrange all of the scallops to the outside of the pan so that they are evenly seared. This also leaves the center of the pan to mix other ingredients. The leftover butter sauce was saved to use over veggies for another meal. It was really good and tasty. It was really runny, but perfect to add flavor to veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Only the second time I have cooked bay scallops-1st time, my husband ate them I think out of sympathy.This recipe and watching the video made perfect sense and was so spot on.I used garlic powder and no wine(didn't have any)but we did have a 2 yr.old jar of everclear /w/a cinnamon stick in it a niece gave us.I used a shot of that with the lemon juice,put the cold butter in as directed.I make perfect skillet toast-poured it over and with the sides,we ate like royalty.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Not surprisingly another restaurant quality tasting dish from Chef John that I will be using over and over. I love seafood and his recipes can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a winner. Comes together quickly so it's a great choice when entertaining. I served it on a bed of rice since the sauce is a abit thin but sooo flavorful. My side of choice was a chickpea/pesto toss served room temp. This worked well together. I find that serving a dry white wine complements the big flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Its so ridiculous when people say I made this recipe exactly as written except I used blah blah blah... then you didn't make the recipe exactly as written now did you??!!! I don't think people should be able to give a review until they have made it true to the recipe, then make it again and come back toe with the revisions. Thank you. PS. This one was great. Next time I will do my revisions to make it even better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I bought fresh/frozen bay scallops, .89 lb. I took them out of the freezer for about 15 minutes before throwing them in the hot oil, so they weren't completely thawed. I used 2T olive oil and I never let my oil reach its smoke point because I think it makes it bitter and is probably unhealthy. I left my scallops unturned for a little longer than recommended because they were frozen. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly (but I did use 1/4 cup butter instead of 4T, because I read the recipe wrong and it still came out great. you can't make scallops too buttery, right?! I used Naked Cow Dairy Honey Butter because it is incredible and made locally on Oahu where I live. I supplemented this to a faux-fredo sauce made from cauliflower and spooned over whole wheat fettuccine. it was yummy. It added some depth to my kind of bland faux-fredo, which will receive more herbs and nutritional yeast next time. Over all this was super easy and quick to make even with frozen bay scallops and they came out wonderfully! next time I might try adding clams, mushrooms and asparagus -I think that would meld nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I added 1 cup of heavy cream to create a pasta sauce, as was suggested in the note by the chef, and I served it over zucchini noodles. The sauce was thin and runny, but ridiculously tasty. I would recommend making the sauce separately from the scallops so that it has time to reduce and thicken, and you are able to get more of a sear on your scallops. Also, if you're considering using zucchini noodles, I recommend against long, thick strips (like fettucine) and opt for thinner slicing (like angel hair). Thick zucchini noodles fight against the small scallops and don't soak up enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was fantastic. Prepared exactly as stated, the scallops are delicious. In order to prevent super soggy bread, use a dense bread, and make sure it is well toasted. I highly recommend this recipe, either as an appetizer, or a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very good with pasta for dinner. Things I changed are, using 2/3 cup wine and reducing the wine for 10 min before using. I also just used the sauce with out the cream over the pasta it was lighter and very yummy. I cut up the Italian bread for dunking and served with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States