Bay Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very good recipe, I have made this on 4 different occasions with 3 different seafood ingredients ,bay scallops, alaskan king crab and shrimp. All 4 times it was great. I didn't change anything else in the recipe except for adding 1 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
This chowder isfantastic. Real New England flavor. The scallops break up into small pieces and the blended carrots and vegetables add a wonderful body. A meal in itself. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was amazing! I did reduce the amount of mushrooms per the suggestion of one other reviewer... One pound per batch would have been way too much. I made three batches, and used about 12 oz. mushrooms total. The heavy cream/egg yolk mixture makes the recipie. Smell the mixture prior to adding it -- and then after adding it. So rich, so good. I actually used more scallops than called for, and I also added about 1/3 lb. of medium-small shrimp per batch... I intentionally broke the scallops up a bit with a whisk while cooking (I used large scallops) to make it more evenly distributed. All in all, excellent flavor. One reviewer had said they'd used 5 potatoes vs. 3... I used three. I think 5 would have made it a little too thick for my taste. This will definitely become a regular in my book. Regards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I am shocked this does not have more reviews. I love this. Ive made it about 10 times in the past 2 years and all the time it comes out delicious. Everyone who loves seafood just wolfs it down. Even those who are not wild about seafood and mushrooms have admitted its delicious. I often add extra scallops and / or mushrooms and it always turns out great. I intend to try it with shrimp and maybe lobster. I serve with crust fench bread for dipping. The hardest part is the chopping (tedious and time consuming because you want the veggies sliced up as small as possible) and the pureeing because I always do it when the veggies are warm and it gets hot and the mixture is thick but its not really a complicated recipe, just time consuming for a novice cook such as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was good. I added 1 tsp. of Old Bay and a can of whole kernel corn. I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so I added a small can, but could have left it out and will next time. After pureeing the cooked vegetables, I decided I wanted some chunks of potato and so added four small diced potatoes. I also didn't have any white wine, but don't think it would have made this any better anyway. This was very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Love this dish. I added only 3/4 lb of scallops and 1 more potato and 1/2 lb of salad shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
WOW, THIS IS A WONDERFUL CHOWDER THAT EVERYONE LOVES. I USE SKIM MILK INSTEAD OF WHIPPING CREAM AND IT STILL TASTES DEVINE. I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this tonight and I personally love the fact that it's so different from any other. I thought the carrots and the blending was strange but it all makes sense once you've made it. I can't imagine using a pound of mushrooms and I love mushrooms, I used a half pound. I can see this being great with any kind of seafood and a keeper for when our bored with all your other recipes.. I really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilpenguinmd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this for New Years Day and It was GREAT! The flavor was perfect. Could not find Bay Scallops had to use Sea Scallops but still great. We will be having this again and again! Thanks Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
My son David made this last night. Very good. It definitely will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States