Bay Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
This chowder isfantastic. Real New England flavor. The scallops break up into small pieces and the blended carrots and vegetables add a wonderful body. A meal in itself. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Love this dish. I added only 3/4 lb of scallops and 1 more potato and 1/2 lb of salad shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this for New Years Day and It was GREAT! The flavor was perfect. Could not find Bay Scallops had to use Sea Scallops but still great. We will be having this again and again! Thanks Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. A bit rich with all that heavy cream, but delicious. Instead of bay scallops, I used sea scallop pieces which worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
An excellent recipe, however, I only used a couple of ounces of mushrooms, and doubt one can actaully use a whole pound as recipe calls for without mushrooms completely overwhelming the entire thing. First time I used scallops, 2nd time I used some shrimp, and looking forward to next time when I will use crab, maybe some lobster too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
Great. I used a lot more potatoes (5) so I increased the recipe, I also used half-and-half and and imitation crab instead of scallops. It was a big hit with everyone and a great way to use up my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This was amazing! I did reduce the amount of mushrooms per the suggestion of one other reviewer... One pound per batch would have been way too much. I made three batches, and used about 12 oz. mushrooms total. The heavy cream/egg yolk mixture makes the recipie. Smell the mixture prior to adding it -- and then after adding it. So rich, so good. I actually used more scallops than called for, and I also added about 1/3 lb. of medium-small shrimp per batch... I intentionally broke the scallops up a bit with a whisk while cooking (I used large scallops) to make it more evenly distributed. All in all, excellent flavor. One reviewer had said they'd used 5 potatoes vs. 3... I used three. I think 5 would have made it a little too thick for my taste. This will definitely become a regular in my book. Regards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
WOW, THIS IS A WONDERFUL CHOWDER THAT EVERYONE LOVES. I USE SKIM MILK INSTEAD OF WHIPPING CREAM AND IT STILL TASTES DEVINE. I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I just wasn't impressed with the base of this soup. It had an almost grainy texture to it. My husband did, however, say he liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I was extremely disappointed in this dish. Very bland, and too much work for a dish that is not a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States