Bay Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Great flavor and easy to make! I substituted fat-free 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy cream and it was just fine; this is a good way to reduce the fat content too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I am shocked this does not have more reviews. I love this. Ive made it about 10 times in the past 2 years and all the time it comes out delicious. Everyone who loves seafood just wolfs it down. Even those who are not wild about seafood and mushrooms have admitted its delicious. I often add extra scallops and / or mushrooms and it always turns out great. I intend to try it with shrimp and maybe lobster. I serve with crust fench bread for dipping. The hardest part is the chopping (tedious and time consuming because you want the veggies sliced up as small as possible) and the pureeing because I always do it when the veggies are warm and it gets hot and the mixture is thick but its not really a complicated recipe, just time consuming for a novice cook such as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this tonight and I personally love the fact that it's so different from any other. I thought the carrots and the blending was strange but it all makes sense once you've made it. I can't imagine using a pound of mushrooms and I love mushrooms, I used a half pound. I can see this being great with any kind of seafood and a keeper for when our bored with all your other recipes.. I really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilpenguinmd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was good. I added 1 tsp. of Old Bay and a can of whole kernel corn. I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so I added a small can, but could have left it out and will next time. After pureeing the cooked vegetables, I decided I wanted some chunks of potato and so added four small diced potatoes. I also didn't have any white wine, but don't think it would have made this any better anyway. This was very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
My son David made this last night. Very good. It definitely will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very good recipe, I have made this on 4 different occasions with 3 different seafood ingredients ,bay scallops, alaskan king crab and shrimp. All 4 times it was great. I didn't change anything else in the recipe except for adding 1 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I served this when I had my parents over for dinner, and they loved it. This is a great soup, but it needs a little more texture. I think I would have liked it better if I had left some of the potatoes in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I was extremely disappointed in this dish. Very bland, and too much work for a dish that is not a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I just wasn't impressed with the base of this soup. It had an almost grainy texture to it. My husband did, however, say he liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
WOW, THIS IS A WONDERFUL CHOWDER THAT EVERYONE LOVES. I USE SKIM MILK INSTEAD OF WHIPPING CREAM AND IT STILL TASTES DEVINE. I HIGHLY SUGGEST THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States