Bay Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was excellent. I was a little afraid of how it was going to taste because of the slightly fishy smell as it was cooking but it's wonderful. I made it exactly as posted except I had to use 3 cans of mushrooms instead of fresh, since that's all I had on hand. My recipe looks a little more green (from the herbs) than the picture shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. Still very "chowder" like, with enough differences to make it very unique. The only changes I made were more scallop, potato, and carrot. Then when it comes time to blend, I only blend 2 cups and leave the rest as is. The egg yolk and cream is beautiful. Perfect in a bread bowl.... Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jaffrey, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very delicious!!! It was a huge huge hit! Try it you wont be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I just prepared this dish at my home and it is absolutely wonderful. Great taste and excellent consistency. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent! Some heavy duty prep work but well worth it. Next time I will cut down on the mushrooms, but wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I tried this for dinner exactly following the recipe and it was not at all what I expected. The color was greenish, I'm guessing from the parsley, the taste overpowered the taste of the scallops and mushrooms. My son thought it was gritty but he did like the taste. My husband, who will eat anything, said the color was off-putting and the taste was off. I will not make it again. I was expecting something more New England Clam Chowderish. Very, very disappointed. Threw out the remainder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was really, really good and received rave revies from my hubby. I followed the recipe fairly closely with a few exceptions: used 5 small yukon golds, 4 cups low sodium chicken stock (I hate leftovers!), and did not add the egg yolk. I also used good sherry in plce of the white wine. I really loved the taste of the sherry, added an extra splash at the end! Very well done recipe, good soup for a first course entertaining. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was so delicious, my husband & I loved it. We didn't change a thing and it was perfect! I didn't puree anything though, just diced everything uniformly and that works out perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was so good!!! My husband and I are on a restricted diet. So I omitted the potatoes and carrots adding extra onion and celery. I also traded the heavy cream for some 1% cottage cheese that blended into a cream. I used half shrimp and half scallops. My husband gave rave reviews! It's on the "absolutely make again list!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My husband, not a seafood guy, really grooved on this. I did have trouble with it looking a bit curdled, which I believe a previous reviewer had trouble with. I thought it was a little surprising to simmer it with the cream, since it oftens curdles--next time I would try simmering with the egg yolk, so it gets cooked, but then adding the dairy at the end and not letting it get to a simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States