Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years and someone ALWAYS asks me for it when I take them somewhere, during the holidays I keep the ingredients on hand in case a sudden party comes up. One thing I do is cook the meatballs in the oven before putting them in the slow cooker, the are a lot less spongy and watery that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Perfect as an appetizer for holiday parties. Most people are surprised by the delicious combination of cranberry sauce and sauerkraut. Definitely use WHOLE BERRY cranberry sauce. I usually reduce sugar to 1/2 cup, and use only 14 oz. of drained sauerkraut. Works equally well with beef, turkey or pork meatballs. Can be made ahead and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
We did not like this recipe-we doubled the amount of meatballs called for and still had too much of the mixture. On top of that, we did not enjoy the flavor at all and it sort of smelled weird while cooking-will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is a great recipe!!!! I made these for a company pot luck and everyone raved about them! They have a tangy flavor that is kind of like a sweet/sour taste. Every time I make these, people always ask for the recipe. They take about 3 or 4 minutes to throw together! Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Loved it. Cut the sugar in half and found it sweet enough. Doubled the meat balls. Cooked on high for 1 hour and then 3 hours on low. Will do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Great recipe! We had friends bring it to an Oktoberfest party and served it as an appetizer. I made it tonight and served it over rice, as the main dish. My kids loved it and asked for seconds. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
delicious!! served as the main course of dinner over white rice, with salad and breadsticks. The kids ate every bite and so did the grownups!! I used 1 chopped onion instead of sauerkraut. I also used about 1/2-3/4c. brown sugar, it was sweet enough as it was!! Will certaainly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
A little too sweet for my taste but all the party goers LOVED them. I used 1/2 the sugar as some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I have made these several times and there are never any left in the pot when I go home. I am ALWAYS asked for the recipe whenever I take these to any party. YUM! I also cook the meatballs before I put them into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This recipe was great. I followed the advice and added the pineapple chunks with the juice instead of the water. My family really enjoyed this appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States