Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made these for New Year's Day, and everyone loved them! I only put in 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and they were still very sweet. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is THE BEST meatball recipe! I have made a variation of this for years, as well. I bake the meatball in the oven first, then add them to the crock pot (less grease), use jellied cranberry sauce and only 3-4 T chili sauce . This one is a keeper! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was good...but I was looking for a bit more "bavarian taste"...not so much the sweet meatballs. I think next time I would add a few caraway seeds to this and maybe another can of sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
It's (the recipe) okay. I usually make a stroganoff style meatball which everyone loves. The flavors just didn't seem to mesh to me. I'm taking them to a party tonite. Will edit if others like them better than I did. **Edit. Well others said they were good, but they still liked my other recipe better. I might try it again minus the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was GREAT! These did not last long on the table at all. It smells fabulous too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
As written it was OK. I thought the flavor was good, however the sauce tasted a bit "greasy/oily". If I make again, I probably oven bake the meatballs first and then add to the saurkraut mixture in the slow-cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe is excellent! It has the weirdest ingredients I have ever combined, but the taste is fantastic. I took it with me to a Thanksgiving party and several people asked for the recipe. Very easy and very well received. I did double the amount of meatballs, but everything else was exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!!! A breeze to throw together. I used cranberry jelly (as opposed to the whole berries) as it's what I had to hand, and I really liked the texture. The sweetness was just right. The kiddos didn't care for the texture of the sauerkraut, so I plucked out a few meatballs...they liked the flavor and ate several. I served this with the easy corn casserole and garlic mashed potatoes, which was a PERFECT combination. The "gravy" was sweet (but not too sweet) and thick enough to cover the potatoes. I highly recommend this recipe- it would be great for a potluck at the office, a shower, holiday event, etc. This will get rave reviews from everyone! As another poster said, don't be put off by the ingredients- the blend of flavors is amazing! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My family didn't really like this. It wasn't bad...just not great either. I think maybe I was expecting it to be much better from all the five star reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
So glad I found this recipe again. I made it for my son's cocktail party the evening before his wedding. It received "RAVE" comments. I plan an making it again for our Christmas party. So easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States