Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made these for my bunco night and everyone loved them! I followed some previous reviewers' advice and made a few changes. First, I used two pounds of meatballs-there was plenty of sauce and I think one pound would have just been swimming in it. I also subbed in a chopped onion for the sauerkraut and I cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious-I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
my bf loved it, and couldn't stop eating them! we will be making again bc its so easy and delish. we ate them on toasted sourdough rolls :) the recipe does make a lot of extra sauce, so next time i will add more meat balls. also i popped the meatball in the oven for about 20 minutes, while i was opening and mixing everything else in the crockpot. the sauce is sweet, very good how it is, but i can see how a little less sugar would be good too... altogether, a winner bc of it being easy, great, and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denay4love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was fantastic; I made it for a party and everyone wanted the recipe, plus incredibly easy to make ahead of time. I didnt' have four hours to slow-cook so heated it up on the stove first then put it in the crockpot for the last 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a huge hit at my new year's eve party. I was really excited because I've never made meat balls before (I grew up vegetarian pretty much, so meat fascinates me). I didn't need to get so excited, however, because people were eating them like they were going out of style. The ingredients seem weird, but they taste really good together. I made mine in a small, 2 quart slow cooker, and I recommend cutting down the recipe by at least half for a slow cooker that size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought it was pretty good, though we preferred it with more meatballs. I would say next time I would use a 32 oz bag of meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Made meatball sandwiches with these. everydody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Not something I loved, however, I think it had more to do with the meatballs. I'm sure this would have tasted better with a better quality of meatballs. Remember, you get what you pay for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
i love these meatballs. They are always the first thing to go when ever I make them for a party or gettogether. I great recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
very good.My husband went crazy for this. I will make it again this weekend for an Octoberfest party. A great fall dish! I suggest using 2 lbs of meatballs b/c there is so much sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
For a quick appetizer, this was a good recipe for frozen meatballs (Costco). I used a pound and a half of meatballs, and think two pounds would have been better. Plus, as others reviewers state, cut back on the sugar. I've got leftovers from the party last night, and with a little more this and that, I'll eat them over white rice. Couldn't find bavarian style kraut, so used kraut with wine (otherwise followed recipe exactly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States