Bavarian Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I make a slightly modified version of this recipe, as a few others have mentioned. I picked up the recipe from an old coworker, and she had picked it up from one of her previous coworkers. It's obviously a potluck favorite! Now that I'm making it, everyone is always complimenting me and asking for the recipe! I just buy a 32 oz bag of traditional frozen meatballs. I thaw them overnight because I take it to work and assemble/cook it there, but if you're not pressed for time you can use frozen too. I'm very interested to try out baking them first... I'd like to see if they are a little crispier while sitting in the crockpot! Anyhow, I just dump the meatballs in the crockpot, add a 12oz bottle of chili sauce, a can of whole berry cranberry sauce, a 14 oz can of sauerkraut and 3/4 cup brown sugar. (I've used 1 cup brown sugar and it's just as good) Cook on high for 3 hours or so, stirring twice while cooking and again before serving. SUPER easy and SUPER delicious! There's always plenty of sauce and sauerkraut leftover -- so I'm not sure why you would add water or twice the amount of sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was a hit at the Octoberfest party I attended! Everyone asked for the recipe. I did make a few tweaks such as adding a few tbsp of Siracha sauce to cut some of the sweetness. Also, I only used 1/2 of the brown sugar as some of the other reviewers suggested. There was a lot of extra sauce after the meatballs were done cooking, so instead of serving it in the crockpot I just removed the meatballs and put them in a baking dish. I spooned some of the remaining sauce over the meatballs and that created a perfect ratio of meatballs to sauce. One other adjustment I will make next time is to combine all of the sauce ingredients in a blender before adding it to the crockpot. I found that the consistency of the cranberry sauce was very difficult to combine into the other ingredients and it ended up as just small lumps in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Tran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yongie
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
this is a great recipe. Great as an appetizer or even as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is the bomb!!!! Everybody loved it. My mother-in-law wants me to bring this to holiday meals. I used three 14 oz. packages of frozen, pre-cooked meatballs, and cooked them in the oven first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezckimo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
My daughter made these for our Oktoberfest dinner yesterday. They were excellent and eaay to make. They went along well with our Braised Red Cabbage, Herbed Green Beans and Pork Schnitzel and Apple Dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Shults Toole
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The sauce was way too thin and there was too much of it, not to mention how horribly sweet it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic flavor! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2A_Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe! Made for our New Year's party and everyone raved. I followed the recipe but doubled the sauce (except for the sauerkraut) and doubled the meatballs. I used Walmart brand italian style meatballs. Cooked on low for 8 hours and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make this recipe with just a bottle of ketchup and a can of the cranberries. Simmer on low for about 2-3 hours and they are amazing. No need for the brown sugar, water etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Tripled the meatballs and it is perfect! Everyone loves and is always curious about ingredients. Gluten free can make the meatballs and use all ingredients so they were happy too,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States