Bavarian Mints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
These are amazing! Just like the mint melt-aways in the fancy candy shops. I subbed mint extract for the peppermint, and tripled it. I think it was better for the switch. This recipe actually makes about 100 pieces. I wrapped them in foil and twisted the ends. They were a big hit in my gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
These were amazing! I added a tablespoon of coffee granules for a little mocha flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefsazy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These came out really good! I dipped half in dark chocolate and half in milk chocolate. Next time I'll cut one row, then dip in chocolate, then cut some more, and dip, etc. I cut them all at once. The last mints that I dipped in chocolate dried just a bit on the sides (Denver is dry...) I recommend pure belgian chocolate for dipping, making the finished product look very smooth and professional. I put each one in it's own little mini paper cup, just like the candy factory does. The family LOVED them!!! I was asked, "You made these?!?!!!?" more than once. Thanks for the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Yummy. This is not fudge, it's a mint. I just beat it once and place it in the pan, all that other beating is too much work. It still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Another Nebraska girl here. As good as if not better then Russel Stovers. This is a real keeper. My husband already snuck into the fridge to many times. At this rate it will be long gone before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
These are very good. They did turn out like fudge, which was fine with me. They were so easy to make and they had just enough peppermint. I'll definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made these today for Valentine's Day gifts. Wow, they really do taste just like Russell Stover French chocolate mints!! I took another reviewer's suggestion and dipped them in a good quality milk chocolate. This was my first time tempering chocolate. The directions are on this site - Melting and Tempering Chocolate. It couldn't be easier and the results were very professional. If you love French chocolate mints, this is the recipe for you. Will definately make again and again! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I ate these all the time growing up in Nebraska. These also taste like Russell Stover's French Chocolate Mints. I like the idea about dipping them in chocolate, and will try that next time. I was so excited about finding this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These tasted very good - however, I would add a little bit more of the peppermint flavor, because they were lacking a little in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was really good! A little lighter than regular fudge but just the right amount of mint. Made a nice addition to my holiday gift plates. And was easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States